Author Topic: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)  (Read 124585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4668
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #75 on: April 15, 2010, 02:45:00 PM »
Updated .462 to .507 and no problem so far. 8)

Thanks ALWIL!!
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premier Beta / Evorim Free Firewall (testing)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 20 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 849
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #76 on: April 15, 2010, 03:15:51 PM »
Update to version 5.0.507(Slovenski jezik) without any problems :D
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 08:42:23 PM by JuninhoSlo »

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #77 on: April 15, 2010, 03:52:54 PM »
I just tried to update from v4.8 and got this message:

Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Yandros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #78 on: April 15, 2010, 03:54:32 PM »
Updated from 504 to 507 via update button...all is well

Thanks guys.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #79 on: April 15, 2010, 04:20:11 PM »
I just tried to update from v4.8 and got this message:

I have mentioned in another topic that you started that there is no direct update via the GUI in 4.8 to 5.0.

When you check for updates in 4.8 it is looking for updates of 4.8 and you have the latest version. It requires that you download the 5.0 installation file and install over the top.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #80 on: April 15, 2010, 04:21:58 PM »
Hi

Finally... I'm Back!  ::)


Hi

Avast 5 Free - Version.. 5.0.462 - to - 5.0.507 ... Not Good!  :(

Just updated my Laptop
Vista Home Premium 32bit
4 GB Ram
Intel Core 2 Duo

Avast 5 seems to be working OK  :-\
But... Windows Security Centre Does NOT Recognise Avast 5 Is Installed  :'(


Won't be updating my Desktop just yet then.

Hally

Hi 

Just updated my Desktop computer - & - All seems perfectly fine  :D
So!
In The Morning... Looks like I'll just have to do a clean install on my Laptop.

Hally


Had a bit of a rough time with my laptop  :'(

Started to uninstall Avast 5 - Got to the bit that says Registry - Stuck There!  :o
Half an hour later...
Clicked Cancel - & - Booted in to Safe Mode to run the Avast 5 Uninstall Utility.
Anyway!
I've now got Avast 5 back installed on my laptop  :D
And... Touch Wood!
All Seems Well!  8)

Hally
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #81 on: April 15, 2010, 05:05:44 PM »
I just tried to update from v4.8 and got this message:

I have mentioned in another topic that you started that there is no direct update via the GUI in 4.8 to 5.0.

When you check for updates in 4.8 it is looking for updates of 4.8 and you have the latest version. It requires that you download the 5.0 installation file and install over the top.

I apologise, I really didn't see that. When I now tried to download the new version from Avast site I got this message: http://www.avast.com/en-eu/http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10019223.html?part=dl-85737&subj=dl&tag=button&__utma=1.1118222121.1271342766.1271342766.1271342766.1&__utmb=1.4.10.1271342766&__utmc=1&__utmx=-&__utmz=1.1271342766.1.1.utmcsr=google.si|utmccn=%28organic%29|utmcmd=organic|utmctr=avast&__utmv=-&__utmk=78257428



Edit:

I just noticed that this link on Avast's site is not directed properly and it also leads to the previous version. Where can I download the latest version to upgrade from 4.8 to 5?

I'm sorry for being a pain in the ***.



Edit 2:

Nevermind, I just found the latest version here: http://www.avast.com/eng/programs.html

And thank you! :)
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 05:21:27 PM by Bellzemos »
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #82 on: April 15, 2010, 06:09:07 PM »
No problem, hopefully you have it downloaded now, if  not try this direct link, Free AV: http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe, though that is for the English version.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #83 on: April 15, 2010, 06:31:25 PM »
Yes, I have installed it already (from the link I posted up there). I installed the English version, I'm used to it from before and some things just can't be translated right. It says it's already registered (I registered the 4.8 in February 2010). I hope that it will work well.

Thank you for help.
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline psw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #84 on: April 15, 2010, 07:03:41 PM »
In this .507 release new feature is the connection of AvastUI.exe to some of avast.com servers using port 80. Previously I have not the rule for this application in the firewall. Is it expected behaviour?

Offline disPlay

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • DISPLAY!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #85 on: April 15, 2010, 07:19:23 PM »
Here everything went ok and smooth.

Cheers
"The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear."

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #86 on: April 15, 2010, 07:20:21 PM »
In this .507 release new feature is the connection of AvastUI.exe to some of avast.com servers using port 80. Previously I have not the rule for this application in the firewall. Is it expected behaviour?

Yes this is as expected. The UI is somewhat self-updatable (may use some remote content).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #87 on: April 15, 2010, 08:17:23 PM »
In this .507 release new feature is the connection of AvastUI.exe to some of avast.com servers using port 80. Previously I have not the rule for this application in the firewall. Is it expected behaviour?

Yes this is as expected. The UI is somewhat self-updatable (may use some remote content).

connections from avastUI are nothing new...in both "free" and "AIS" where the connections exist, with different goals...
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 08:46:09 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline Snagglegrain

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #88 on: April 15, 2010, 09:31:28 PM »
I had this issue with 5.0.462, and after updating to 5.0.507 it still exists.
In a nutshell, the program will not manually update when a new definition version is available.
Forex, right now, current version is 100415-1.
It has already automatically installed on one of my computers.
The other one still has 100415-0.
When I attempt to manually update, all I get is:
"Already up to date (current version 100415-0)".
I tried repair with v5.0.462, but so far have not tried repair on 5.0.507.
Any suggestions from Vlk?

WinXP, SP3

Offline czoran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #89 on: April 15, 2010, 10:10:48 PM »
Some GUI problems here. Version 5.0.507 free.

PC specs:
Pentium4 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR, ATI X1650, freshly installed XP SP2, all latest drivers.
Tried full installation twice.