Author Topic: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)  (Read 124566 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #180 on: April 23, 2010, 07:27:59 PM »
and after many weeks avast is still blocking and crashing itunes searches.... >:(

Try mentioning which avast! product that is doing that. ;)

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #181 on: April 24, 2010, 12:27:51 PM »
NON, this is for a context menu scan?

This did happen with the scan logs before, but that was fixed. Looks like it is also present when minimising the context menu scan window...

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4668
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #182 on: April 24, 2010, 12:37:36 PM »
NON, this is for a context menu scan?

This did happen with the scan logs before, but that was fixed. Looks like it is also present when minimising the context menu scan window...

-Scott-

Yes, that's right. This happens when I minimize context menu scan window.
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premier Beta / Evorim Free Firewall (testing)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 20 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #183 on: April 24, 2010, 12:43:18 PM »
It happens here as well. When this happened with the scan logs they removed the function to minimise it so that may have to be done here as well, although I think this would be in the next program update...

For now, it can be right clicked, and then restore can be clicked.

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline philrod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #184 on: April 25, 2010, 02:08:11 AM »
I updated to 5.0.507 a week ago (Not the free version) compuetr slowed to a crawl absolute mess. Something called aswrundll.exe was causing havoc with cpu usage.
Internet was slower than dialup and took forever to do simle tasks.
I Unistalled avast and bingo computer back to it's normal speed - Pentium D 3.2 Ghtz 3gig ram XP pro.
To say the least I am not impressed. Ihave used Avast for three years free version.

I am convinced there is a bug with Avast 5.0.507

Any comments would be welcome

Thanks
Philip

Offline GreerThai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #185 on: April 26, 2010, 09:08:51 AM »
I have 5.0.507 now, but still find I cannot upgrade to Avast! IS, as the system clashes with the Acer Aspire Fingerprint Security.

I am sure this is a serious issue for many Avast! V5 IS users, so I hope that it is being addressed by the team.

I paid for IS V5, but have been unable to use it since purchase, more than 2 months ago! I am hanging on in the hope that the fix will soon be offered.

I asked the support team, but they asked me to upgrade the fingerprint system driver - I have the latest one and it still crashes, so I think the problem is with the Avast! IS, not the fingerprint security.

I CAN run Avast! V5 Antivirus, just cant use the Internet Security.

Any thoughts?

Offline Erlands

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #186 on: April 26, 2010, 10:03:50 AM »
Sorry to say; but VPN is still not working on XP.  :'( Please advice what to do.

We have to disable the firewall to use VPN.

We are using AIS.

/Erlands

Offline motu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #187 on: April 27, 2010, 12:35:28 AM »
i jus downloaded one
which says its only for 3o day trial..
is there any full version one.
thanku
 ;D

Offline nighttree

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #188 on: April 27, 2010, 05:37:47 AM »
Since my initial problem was fixed, Avast has been working like a charm, and my system is secured.....but it is running slow as a turtle ?

Takes an average of 30 seconds to switch from page to page  >:(

Any advice ???

Offline simbustar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #189 on: April 27, 2010, 07:19:23 AM »
i unabie to open avast home page and i can't register my avast free edition... pls help me to get my registration key for my antivirus

Offline Tweaknews

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #190 on: April 27, 2010, 09:03:49 AM »
Since my initial problem was fixed, Avast has been working like a charm, and my system is secured.....but it is running slow as a turtle ?

Takes an average of 30 seconds to switch from page to page  >:(

Any advice ???

Yea, downgrade to 4.8.

All problems will be solved.

We need to start solving the processor and memory leak with this program and not the needless other stuff.

Why is avast ignoring the problems with this new AV?

Offline mkis

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1620
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #191 on: April 28, 2010, 02:45:23 AM »
This morning I removed Norton Internet Security 2009 from client computer running Windows 7.
- first standard uninstall using Revo
- then ran Norton/Symantec removal [24] http://uninstallers.blogspot.com/2009/11/1-having-trouble-uninstalling-your-anti.html
- then manual clean Norton/Symantec leftovers from the Registry (but left the legacy drivers)

downloaded and installed Avast! Free, registered product, updated, and ran boot-time scan.

avast 5.0.507 - so far all good - owner advised to ring me if problems.
any issues, I will post to this thread - up until there is a program update.
Avast7 Free, MBAM (on demand), MVPS Hosts

Intel DG41TY, Windows 7 Ultimate, IE9, Google Chrome, 4 GB ram, Secunia PSI, ccleaner, Foxit Reader, Faststone Image viewer, MWSnap.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #192 on: April 28, 2010, 02:36:21 PM »
@Ta2i4, NON: minimize bug was reported and already fixed in source code, thanks!

@nighttree: when you switch to a different page, what exactly is slow? Just GUI? Try run Task Manager (taskmgr.exe), go to "Processes" tab, do you see high CPU usage? Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2010, 02:48:02 PM by pk »

Offline DELETE-THIS-ACCOUNT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #193 on: April 28, 2010, 04:39:23 PM »
New minor bug:

Image:

Url: http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/201/bugr.gif

In the image you can see that the text "Ayuda" (In english "help") is displaced a pixel when the window is in the background.

It is a minimum error but it would be nice to fix it for the new version.

I also like that you add a button to empty the Virus Chest.

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1611
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.507)
« Reply #194 on: April 28, 2010, 04:55:34 PM »
i unabie to open avast home page and i can't register my avast free edition... pls help me to get my registration key for my antivirus
Hello simbustar and welcome to the forum!

You don't need to open the avast-homepage for registration.
You can do it into the program itself at version 5 Free.
Just write your e-mail in the registration and send it to avast.
You don't need a registration-key!!!

There's nothing more to do. ;)
« Last Edit: April 28, 2010, 04:58:24 PM by ~SKY~ »
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | MBAM Free | Browsers: Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |