Author Topic: Avast compatibility?  (Read 6936 times)

Offline pancakegeorge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast compatibility?
« on: July 10, 2004, 08:22:17 AM »
Hi
I'm looking for new anti-virus software and came across a recommendation for Avast!.
Currently I'm using Norton 2003, don't particularly want Norton 2004 and am not impressed with Symantec service.

Does anyone have access to a compatibility chart for Avast! and other products (e.g. firewall etc).

I'm using XP pro with:
- Zonealarm pro 4 (5 doesn't seem stable yet)
- Pest Patrol 4
- Adaware 6 and Adwatch 3
- Spybot search and destroy

If anyone has any recommendations and ideas, or any issues regarding running any of these with Avast!, I'd appreciate hearing about it.  

Thanks.

On Edit:
Email program I'm using is The Bat! v2
« Last Edit: July 10, 2004, 08:47:05 AM by pancakegeorge »

Offline NAMOR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • NAMOR
    • sLoWkIdSpLaYiNg.CoM
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2004, 09:35:34 AM »
I'm running the following on XP SP1:
ZoneAlarm 4
Winpatrol
ProcessGuard
Trojanhunter
SpywareGuard
Spybot's TeaTimer
For email I use Thunderbird and Opera's M2

...and I have had zero problems running with Avast. Everyones system is different though. The only way to see if it will "play nice" is to try it.  ;)
Windows 7 64bit + LUA + Full DEP + Avast Internet Security.

Offline pancakegeorge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2004, 09:53:35 AM »
Thanks NAMOR - I know what you mean - just trying to save any potential headaches  :) by seeing what people think.

When I installed Zonealarm 5, it took me a day to discover why diskeeper could no longer get sole access for checkdisk - thought the partition was in trouble and didn't initially think to check the zonealarm update. Wasted loads of time before discovering a revert to v4 solved the problem.

A renewal for Norton might be cheaper, but it seems like time for a change!
 ;D

Cheers...

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2004, 12:44:35 PM »
A renewal for Norton might be cheaper

But, like you yourself said: I am not impressed with Symantec service.
Neither their compatibility, technical support, etc. etc.

Wellcome to avast.
You give me a light for incompatibility into ZoneAlarm 5.
I'm experiencing some trouble with defragmentantion but I think it was not related to ZA.
I'll do more research.  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline pancakegeorge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2004, 01:37:37 PM »
you might find some info at:
http://www.execsoft.com/diskeeper/faqs/faqs.asp#gq0

There were also references at Zonelabs with a couple of work-arounds - if I find them again I'll let you know. One of them was to disable one of the Zonealarm start-up services, perform check disk and then reset - not my idea of a good thing cos I'd probably forget to restart the service or something equally stupid  :)

On Edit:
I just took a quick look at the Zonelabs forum - seems version 5 is not the most popular, but there is supposed to be an update soon. ZA v4.5 looks like it's best just now, so I'll try that with Avast! for the moment.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2004, 02:52:06 PM by pancakegeorge »

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23949
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2004, 04:53:46 PM »
pancakegeorge
Just make 100% sure that you've fully uninstalled Norton AV before you start to install Avast!
You may have to go to the Symantec site to get their program to fully remove NAV2003.
I got rid of Norton some time back and have been one happy camper eversince. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline techie101returns

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2004, 08:09:26 PM »
pancake,

Zone Alarm 5 still is a bit buggy although it has been running fine on a W98 machine.  It did not fair well on an XP.  I use an older version of ZA and also have Sygate.

Avast is a wonderful AV that as far as I am concerned .... is better than the headache of Norton.

I usually run antispyware programs such as SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard which are resident running.

Adaware is a good manual scanner for spyware, as is Spybot SandD.

Process Guard is a nice addition, and also consider a cookie filter of some kind.

Remember, that if you use Avast Home, then you need to install a script controller since only the Pro version has one.
I use either Script Defender or Script Sentry.

Browsers are another area for vulnerability.
Independent replacements for IE:  
Mozilla and Firefox are top contenters with Opera running a third (only because it displays banners ads unless you "register" it....at a cost of about 39.00US.  Not worth it.  Green Browser has been used by forum users with great satisfaction.
Some nice IE overlays are Avant and Enigma.

You can add on so many things depending on your wishes from proxy filters to mail filters and beyond.  ;D

Good luck.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2004, 08:10:14 PM by Techie101 »

Offline Lars-Erik

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Gender: Male
    • Lars-Erik Østerud
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2004, 08:50:13 PM »
I'm using XP pro with:
- Zonealarm pro 4 (5 doesn't seem stable yet)
- Pest Patrol 4
- Adaware 6 and Adwatch 3
- Spybot search and destroy
I'm not using Pest Patrol, but I use the others. No problems. I'm using WIn98se, but I guess it should be OK with XP too....
www.osterud.name - ICQ: 7297605 - AIM/Yahoo/Facebook/Skype/Astra: LarsErikOsterud

neal62

  • Guest
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2004, 06:58:47 AM »
pancakegeorge,

Your wise in getting rid of Norton. As others have stated it does cause alot of problems. I use Avast Home along with either of 2 different firewalls: Sygate 5.5, or Outpost 1.0 which are free. I use other malware protection and Avast co-exists with them just fine on my pc. ;)

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23949
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2004, 05:57:37 PM »
Does anybody else use Webroot Spy Sweeper or am I the only one?
I haven't seen it mentioned and it catches almost all changes. I can't even add a Favorite without a reminder. I'm using the free version and the pay version has even more functions...
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline lee20

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2329
  • Gender: Male
  • The only true failure is when you give up
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2004, 06:11:48 PM »
I use spy sweeper v3.0 (i used v2.6 in the past), it is proberly the best out there but it is something they want you to pay for to constantly get updates, so i uninstall and reinstall every week or so, because the one free upgrade they give u upgrades to there current full version.


I use adware, bazooka spyware, spybot and spyblaster(i like more then one opinon), avast! and sygate firewall, no conflict problems that i no of.

--lee
« Last Edit: July 13, 2004, 06:12:57 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2004, 06:18:11 PM »
Does anybody else use Webroot Spy Sweeper or am I the only one?
I haven't seen it mentioned and it catches almost all changes. I can't even add a Favorite without a reminder. I'm using the free version and the pay version has even more functions...

Sorry Bob. I used (besides the freewares: ad-aware, spybot, spywareblaster, spywareguard...) Pest Patrol (trial version). You think it 'discovers' more, but are false alarms  :-*
The best things in life are free.

Offline lee20

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2329
  • Gender: Male
  • The only true failure is when you give up
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2004, 06:41:27 PM »
Technical,
how can you be sure there false alarms if you have never used it, i have tested spy sweeper, and it does seem to find "more", but even if you have all the spyware scanners out there you will get infected, there just to many, they will all find certain unique spywares.
Just thought i would have a say, wasn't meaning to second guess you or anything.



--lee
« Last Edit: July 13, 2004, 06:42:20 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2004, 07:03:33 PM »
Technical,
how can you be sure there false alarms if you have never used it

Sorry I was not clear. I was talking about Pest Patrol and not Spy Sweeper  ;)
But it was a general conclusion: sometimes the more you detect the most false alarms you get  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline lee20

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2329
  • Gender: Male
  • The only true failure is when you give up
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast compatibility?
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2004, 07:07:29 PM »
Quote
Pest Patrol

i have only used pest patrol once, the online scan one, and it found spyware and told me how to manuly remove it, i did so and after deleating the key from my registry i could no longer open anything got an error, pc frozze and would no longer start back up, even if i installed Win98SE back over the top of it, i had to reformat in the end.
I have never used it since......................

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now