Author Topic: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!  (Read 15893 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2010, 09:15:34 PM »
I'm using Immunet Protect MSE on XP sp3 32bit till avast! 5 is fixed.

ZoneAlarm Pro is working great with MSE! 8)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2010, 04:51:00 AM by rdmaloyjr »
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline bobo1

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 471
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2010, 09:55:48 PM »
Hmm,
Windows defender is some kind of antivirus you should remove this before putting avast 5 on. Did your dell original restore cd have a bundled antivirus on it? and put this on your root drive?. In the uk DELL ship & Install macafee or symantec/nortons. REMOVE THESE AT ALL COSTS BEFORE PUTTING AVAST ON WITH THEIR REMOVAL TOOLS!?
IBM T41 INTEL CENTRINO 1.6GHZ  3. XP SP3. 1000 MB RAM. 80GB HARD DRIVE. AVAST 9. MALWAREBYTES FREE.
NEW TEST RIG FUJITSU (SCALEO) 2.8GHZ 3000MB RAM DVI HD OUT SVGA PENT 4 AVAST 9. GAMING RIG

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72827
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2010, 10:01:19 PM »
REMOVE THESE AT ALL COSTS BEFORE PUTTING AVAST ON WITH THEIR REMOVAL TOOLS!?

We never got to this step, as he/she gave up before...
But you're absolutely right!! :)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline marquita188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2010, 01:44:32 AM »
i gave up on avast 5, and have gone back to avast 4.8, and it works right again!! I won't be upgrading again for long time!!

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2010, 05:01:08 AM »
Good that avast 4 is working. :) Keep it on for one more month, and switch back to avast 5. By that time, everything will be alright. :-\

nmb

Offline marquita188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2010, 05:10:41 AM »
Good that avast 4 is working. :) Keep it on for one more month, and switch back to avast 5. By that time, everything will be alright. :-\

nmb

OK, i guess.

Offline Bobka55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2010, 06:10:15 PM »
I have downloaded Avast Internet Security for 3 computers and installed with the license on two computers sucessfully. The third computer just does not work when AIS is installed?? If I uninstall it the computer works fine... Does anyone know why this would happen?

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2010, 06:14:23 PM »
-edited-
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 06:21:25 PM by nmb »

Offline Saty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2010, 08:28:33 PM »
Hmm,
Windows defender is some kind of antivirus you should remove this before putting avast 5 on. Did your dell original restore cd have a bundled antivirus on it? and put this on your root drive?. In the uk DELL ship & Install macafee or symantec/nortons. REMOVE THESE AT ALL COSTS BEFORE PUTTING AVAST ON WITH THEIR REMOVAL TOOLS!?

bobo1,

just some info

Windows defender is not some kind of antivirus and does not interfere with Avast 5 or Avast 4.8 for that matter, Its perfectly happy running side by side with either Avast versions.

Im sure if you look at peoples signatures you'll see it being used from time to time.

Im surprised YoKenny didnt see your post~grins~

Saty
(2) Vista Basic laptops 32bit SP2...../ 2.16GHz 2GB ram 160GB HD / 1.86GHz 2GB ram 80GB HD / Avast 5.1 807 Free / Immunet Protect Plus / PC Tools Firewall Plus 7 / PC Tools Threatfire / WinPatrol Free / Malwarebytes Free / Superantispyware Free / IE8

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2010, 08:34:13 PM »
I have downloaded Avast Internet Security for 3 computers and installed with the license on two computers sucessfully. The third computer just does not work when AIS is installed?? If I uninstall it the computer works fine... Does anyone know why this would happen?
Each computer system is as different as the 100 Million users of avast! so providing information about the system that avast! does not work on would help fix the problem.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline bobo1

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 471
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2010, 09:11:35 PM »
Hi
I don't like Windows vista, certain is is something that was bundled with the dell computer could be causing trouble old antivirus (drivers etc in system 32 folder) if 4.8 is running ok so use it but updates for this will soon stop.
I use Windows xp sp3 and fully updated and avast 5 has worked ok for me when it first came out. Just minor update problems first of all
IBM T41 INTEL CENTRINO 1.6GHZ  3. XP SP3. 1000 MB RAM. 80GB HARD DRIVE. AVAST 9. MALWAREBYTES FREE.
NEW TEST RIG FUJITSU (SCALEO) 2.8GHZ 3000MB RAM DVI HD OUT SVGA PENT 4 AVAST 9. GAMING RIG

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2010, 09:45:06 PM »
Hmm,
Windows defender is some kind of antivirus you should remove this before putting avast 5 on. Did your dell original restore cd have a bundled antivirus on it? and put this on your root drive?. In the uk DELL ship & Install macafee or symantec/nortons. REMOVE THESE AT ALL COSTS BEFORE PUTTING AVAST ON WITH THEIR REMOVAL TOOLS!?

bobo1,

just some info

Windows defender is not some kind of antivirus and does not interfere with Avast 5 or Avast 4.8 for that matter, Its perfectly happy running side by side with either Avast versions.

Im sure if you look at peoples signatures you'll see it being used from time to time.

Im surprised YoKenny didnt see your post~grins~

Saty
bobo1 has not figured out how to update their profile yet and DavidR an avast! √úberevangelist recommends having system information in the siganture to help diagnose situations.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline shinigurai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2010, 06:15:39 PM »
i used 4.8 for a long time without any problems, but i decided to get the new 5.0 and it run fine for a while. but 3 weeks ago it's stopped working, cant do anything with it so i tried to uninstall 5.0 run the removal program(no problems with that) and install 4.8 again but that stops running too after a while(1 day)

5.0 says when i try to turn it on : error File System Shield provider not found
4.8 says: something about aavm, cant remeber what exactly
« Last Edit: April 19, 2010, 06:21:00 PM by shinigurai »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2010, 04:35:15 AM »
I suggest an installation from the scratch:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

Offline andy_3_013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HELP!!! AVAST! 5 ISN'T WORKING FOR ME I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING!!!!
« Reply #29 on: May 28, 2010, 07:47:19 PM »
hi,
newbie here. to this forum anyway :)
this thread seems most appropriate, so...
i've installed avast 5 on 3 pc's. 2 for friends, 1 on my sons.
all 3 running different os'es.
windows 7, vista and xp.
all 3 stopped working. "your system is not secure" "fix now" "service has been stopped" etc
uninstalled all 3, and reinstalled.
2 friends copies seem to be still working. haven't heard otherwise so far.
however, son's has stopped working again. xp version. and it was password protected so he couldn't turn it off (he's 15)

any ideas? or can someone point me in the direction of a thread that answers this :)