Author Topic: Switch back to voiceovers?  (Read 13436 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

epicelite

  • Guest
Switch back to voiceovers?
« on: April 30, 2010, 10:51:41 AM »
I miss the old voice overs from the old UI version of avast.

They sounded more 'computer generated'.

The new girly voice just doesn't sound as serous. Can I get the old one back somehow?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2010, 12:08:11 PM »
If you kept the .wav files for the old one, I guess you could transfer them over. You'd have to rename them, I'd think.
The folder they live in (Version 5) seems to be "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Alwil Software\Avast5\sounds". I quite like some of the old sounds, and had customised some of them, using wavs from Startrek.
Haven't felt the urge to do that with this one yet, so don't know if it will create problems. You're on your own, there.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

epicelite

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2010, 12:38:46 PM »
Can you upload the old ones for me somewhere?

Offline Tarq57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3695
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2010, 12:46:20 PM »
I don't have them any more, they were deleted along with the rest of my Avast 4 installation.
You would have to re-download Avast 4, uninstall 5, install 4, copy the sound files to another location, uninstall 4, install 5 again, rename the Avast 4 sound files to the same names as used in 5, then add those files to the folder I mentioned above, answering "yes" each time you were prompted "confirm you want to replace (this file) with the new (old) version.
Lot of faffing around, I'm fairly confident it would work.
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

guestja

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2010, 01:24:21 PM »
It is not necessary to do all that,  Bob has the sounds files at his site. If you do a search for "How to change Avast sounds" you will find a thread where the site is located. Simply download  the file you want - open Avast - go to settings - troubleshooting, and untick the self defense mode. Then go to the sounds folder as stated above. In the sounds folder open the 1033 folder. Replace the current sound file with the old one being sure to keep the name of the file the same. Now go back and re-enable the self defense mode.  
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 01:29:14 PM by jwa »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2010, 01:35:21 PM »
jwa, the next program update (or repair) will bring back the original sounds...
The best things in life are free.

epicelite

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2010, 01:36:19 PM »
Where is "bob's site" ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2010, 01:43:43 PM »
The best things in life are free.

epicelite

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2010, 03:14:41 PM »
nevermind...
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 03:26:07 PM by epicelite »

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2010, 03:28:04 PM »
jwa, the next program update (or repair) will bring back the original sounds...

Really?

Just tested with a repair...the sound I used was left as it was...not sure about program update though, need one of those before I can test ;)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2010, 04:16:41 PM »
Scott... strange, the repair should test the files and replace them.
I think an upgrade should do the same...
Who knows... ::)
The best things in life are free.

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2010, 05:16:24 PM »

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2010, 01:12:07 AM »
Hmmm, maybe we could get a custom sounds feature implemented (so that they don't get overwritten on upgrades?)  8)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2010, 02:38:25 PM »
The sound files indeed do have the "no-overwrite flag", so if you replace them with your own, the avast updater won't touch them...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

cinchez

  • Guest
Re: Switch back to voiceovers?
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2010, 01:24:03 PM »
The sound files indeed do have the "no-overwrite flag", so if you replace them with your own, the avast updater won't touch them...
So does this mean changing the sounds wont affect avast!'s performance for protection whatsoever?

Thanks^^

-AnimeLover^^