Author Topic: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating  (Read 23186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Marco Fumetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2010, 03:00:41 PM »

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2010, 03:11:28 PM »
Well, once again - you need to allow avast.setup; take it or leave it. The only thing that avastui.exe downloads is the advertising banner.

Offline Marco Fumetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2010, 03:20:25 PM »
Well, once again - you need to allow avast.setup; take it or leave it.
As I said before, avast.setup has full access to any port.


doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2010, 03:26:10 PM »
Does it work when you disable the firewall? Frankly looks like the firewall is broken here. Also, if you run

Quote
ashUpd.exe vps

does that work?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 03:30:55 PM by doktornotor »

Offline Marco Fumetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2010, 03:34:04 PM »

Does it work when you disable the firewall?

It doesn't work even if I turn off the firewall. Later I'll try to uninstall it but whatever the result, this cannot be the solution...

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2010, 03:37:38 PM »
It doesn't work even if I turn off the firewall. Later I'll try to uninstall it but whatever the result, this cannot be the solution...

Does ashUpd.exe vps work? Well, whatever, you'd be better off reinstalling Avast from scratch.

Download the removal tool.
Uninstall using the control panel.
Reboot to safe mode.
Run the removal tool.
Reboot to normal mode.
Reinstall Avast there.
Reboot.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81784
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2010, 04:50:47 PM »
If the problem is in the firewall, a reinstall of avast won't make any difference, which has been done previously. That is why I suggested reinstalling ashampoo firewall earlier and put it into learning mode (if it has that), but I never got confirmation if that had been done.

However as I have said the firewall doesn't appear to be blocking the update or it wouldn't update no matter where you launched the update check, that is the problem, the inconsistency, which I believe is permissions related. Unfortunately I don't know how to go about dealing with that.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.7.2388 (build: 19.7.4674.494)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline wcnagy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2010, 06:59:32 PM »
 :)I had the same problem, windows 2000 and ashampoo.  Could not get Avast 5.0 to update.  I removed ashampoo and installed a free fire wall called AS3.  Avast now works good. I could not find out anything about AS5, but all is well with Avast.   I know nothing about net working and ports, hope this works out.

Offline Marco Fumetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2010, 09:22:58 PM »
I removed ashampoo and installed a free fire wall called AS3.  Avast now works good.

Honestly, I'm sorry to give up Ashampoo Firewall... What about this AS3? Does it cover all Ashampo features?


Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81784
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #24 on: May 19, 2010, 09:35:19 PM »
Personally I would give AS3 a miss as it doesn't appear to have been updated in a long time (security software IMHO really needs to be actively updated) and it doesn't mention much about outbound protection.

Quote
Category:    AS3 Soft4U
Freeware / FREE
456 KB / Windows All
Last Updated:  April 16th, 2007, 07:34 GMT

Many forum users are using these:
- PC Tools Firewall seems to have the least user headaches as it doesn't seem to be constantly asking the user questions about this and that.
- Online Armor for the most parts fine but it has caused some users grief after avast program updates and that is something you have to watch out for.
- Outpost Firewall 2009 free, a cut down version of the Outpost Firewall Pro version, which should still provide good protection, http://free.agnitum.com/. Download, http://www.filehippo.com/download_outpost_firewall/
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.7.2388 (build: 19.7.4674.494)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline TomCom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2010, 03:00:25 AM »
I used 4.8 for nearly a year, before getting the notification that my free license was about to expire. I found the new version (5.0) available and installed, allowing it to overwrite the older version. I can't get it to update either! I use Windows Firewall, in addition to Spybot SD and Malwarebytes. I added ashUpd.exe to the Exceptions, since "avast.setup" is nowhere to be found in the directory. I too downloaded and attempted to update from the virus definition package. That didn't work either. I even attempted updating with my firewall, Spybot SD and Malwarebytes disabled. To no avail!
When I attempt to update manually, from the user interface, I get the following:
url=guide.opendns.com%2Fhttp%3A%2F%2Fguide.opendns.com%2F%3Furl%3Dguide.opendns.com%252Fhttp%253A%252F%252Fguide.opendns.com%252F%253Furl%253Dguide.opendns.com%25252Fhttp%25253A%25252F%25252Fguide.opendns.com%25252F%25253Furl%25253Ddownload662.avast.com%252525252Fhttp%2525253F%2525252Fdownload662.avast.com%2525252Fiavs5x%2525252Fservers.def
The average time between update tick and error message is about 9 seconds.
I CAN update the program from the Add/Remove Program utility. I can also update with the virus definition package, while in safe mode.
And, even though it IS updated, Microsoft Security Center reports that the virus definitions are probably out of date...
Win XP Pro sp3
AMD processor LE-1600
2.21 GHz, 2 GB RAM
HS Cable
« Last Edit: May 21, 2010, 04:48:14 AM by TomCom »

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2010, 09:33:55 AM »
When I attempt to update manually, from the user interface, I get the following:
url=guide.opendns.com%2Fhttp%3A%2F%2Fguide.opendns.com%2F%3F

Yeah, here's an idea... Change your DNS servers to your ISP ones or to 8.8.8.8 / 4.4.4.4 (Google Public DNS) and try again.

Offline Marco Fumetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2010, 12:22:39 PM »
I already tried both (openDNS and google DNS) but it doesn't work. I don't think it's a DNS problem.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2010, 04:28:20 PM »
Please, post the last 300-350 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\Setup\setup.log
(or the shorter C:\Users\All Users\Alwil Software\Avast5\log\Setup.log).
The best things in life are free.

Offline TomCom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 5 - Cannot connect to Server - When Updating
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2010, 02:35:27 AM »
The message exceeds the maximum allowed length (10000 characters).
Would if I could...
Are you looking for something in particular?
« Last Edit: May 21, 2010, 04:46:06 AM by TomCom »