Author Topic: True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?  (Read 4503 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9387
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« on: July 13, 2004, 06:43:23 PM »
What does this component do? It takes 7MB of memory and i don't have any idea why its necessary? ashMaiSv.exe is for mail scanning,ashUpdSv.exe is for updates and ashSrv.exe is main module.
I heard that its not required under Win9x. If you could somehow remove this module it would make avast! the most conservative app in terms of memory uage. Thanks
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline fhn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2004, 07:04:12 PM »
Agreed.  This program is not being used in W98.  Had a friend with a shutdown issue because ashdisp would cause WXP Pro SP1 to hang up during shutdown.

My understanding is this proggy is used for some sort of splash screen....

Offline Cousin Dave

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Your momma's a llama!
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2004, 07:08:34 PM »
Interesting 8)

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2004, 07:22:27 PM »
Quote
splash screen

Whats a splash screen anyone?

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9387
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2004, 07:29:08 PM »
Splash screen stands for image/logo that shows itself in the center of the screen for a very short time. Usually when cetain program loads or something similar. For example when you launch avast! Simple Interface you'll see spash screen with memory scanning info.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2004, 08:16:16 PM »
ashDisp.exe is the 'icon' on system tray...
If it's crashing the shutdown, something wrong is happening and, maybe, it is not ashDisp but other part of avast (if it is avast  ;D).

Well, who am I to talk in place of Alwil team... Just my 'reading' knowleage at this forum  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline fhn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2004, 08:25:27 PM »
There's a message saying that windows cannot terminate ashdisp during shutdown.  I had him remove/reload Avast 4.1 but the problem did not go away.  He's not local so I cannot provide anymore details.

W98 has the same icon on system tray, but no ashdisp.exe.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9387
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2004, 08:45:16 PM »
Well if its the tray icon (proabably because all components run as service in NT OS),but you can force service to interact with desktop and merge ashDisp.exe with ashServ.exe. Keep only the icon and function to load everything else when you click it (On-Access panel). Just my thought.
It would decrease memory usage too i guess.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2004, 09:17:16 PM »
Well if its the tray icon (proabably because all components run as service in NT OS),but you can force service to interact with desktop and merge ashDisp.exe with ashServ.exe. Keep only the icon and function to load everything else when you click it (On-Access panel). Just my thought.
It would decrease memory usage too i guess.

Most likely... Let the programmers say something now...
fhn, like RejZoR said, only in NT OS (like 2k/XP) we need ashDisp.exe  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:True purpose of ashDisp.exe ?
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2004, 09:33:24 PM »
Quote
It takes 7MB of memory and i don't have any idea why its necessary?


In reality it does not take more than 1MB. The rest is in fact shared with ashServ.exe (and possibly other avast processes).

Quote
Keep only the icon and function to load everything else when you click it (On-Access panel). Just my thought.

Not true in many cases. Consider the Fast User Switching feature in WinXP, for example. Multiple users logged on => multiple desktops => multiple tray icons (and ashDisp's) needed.

BTW this is how it was in avast32 3.0, and it didn't work that much.


Having ashDisp.exe a separate process is a good choice.

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.