Author Topic: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP  (Read 6186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Paul1149

  • Guest
Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« on: May 04, 2010, 10:39:55 PM »
Hi,

I just tried to run a boot time scan on my desktop. I set it and went away for hours. When I came back I found Avast stuck on a dubious PUP. All that time was wasted. Is there some reason Avast doesn't by default simply make note of the possible offender and keep on scanning? I see that this option is obtainable for the other scans, but I don't see it for BTS.

Secondly, is there any way to set exclusions for the BTS, or do program exclusions automatically kick in? There are a bunch of folders I'd like to exclude in order to save time.

Thanks,
p.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2010, 01:05:42 AM »
It was asked before, i.e., the automated actions of the boot time scanning.
I agree with you that they should be returned back (as they were on avast 4.8).
The best things in life are free.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 01:07:27 AM »
Yes please. And please note that this really is a showstopper if you rely on a remote desktop connection/VPN or whatever similar to get access to your box. Please put the feature back.

Paul1149

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2010, 01:16:37 AM »
It's just common sense. Why would anyone want to stop a scan merely because it found something? Raise a flag? Yes. Stop the scan, emphatically not. This is completely counterintuitive, and very frustrating.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2010, 08:50:25 AM »
The automatic actions for the Boot-time scanner will be back in v5.1.
For v5.0, please see here: http://blog.avast.com/2010/02/04/v5-bts-auto-actions/

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2010, 08:54:19 AM »
The automatic actions for the Boot-time scanner will be back in v5.1.

Yay! Thanks.  8)

Paul1149

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2010, 11:02:45 AM »
Vic, to be clear about this, I am not necessarily arguing for BTS automatic actions, but rather for the completion of the scan before any actions are required. If at the end of the BTS the user would have to manually deal with the results before the machine went on to boot up, that would be fine with me. My problem is coming back to a machine hours later to find the scan stalled at 3%, waiting for my input - and facing the possibility of that happening repeatedly as Avast found other possible viruses.

The other thing I would like to see are exclusions for the BTS. I have a large storage folder whose exclusion would save a lot of time from the scan. And the windows update files, of the pattern C:\windows\$* are also vast and, I think, can be safely excluded.

bw,
p.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11816
    • AVAST Software
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2010, 11:43:11 AM »
Global exclusions should work even for the boot-time scanner.

Paul1149

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2010, 12:30:02 PM »
Ok, thanks. I'll check that out.

p.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2010, 01:50:01 PM »
Thanks Vlk, I have forgotten that blog thread.
The best things in life are free.

Paul1149

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2010, 02:59:35 PM »
Global exclusions don't seem to be working for the BTS. For instance, I set *mirc.exe and c:\vault\* for exclusion, yet mirc.exe was hit for the mirc-Z virus and I saw C:\vault... being processed. Booted up, I just checked my settings again, and made sure that my exclusions had indeed taken, and they had.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11816
    • AVAST Software
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2010, 03:16:54 PM »
Strange... we're talking about the Settings / Exclusions window, right? (and not e.g. about File System Shield exclusions)

Paul1149

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2010, 03:20:36 PM »
Correct, the globals. There are no exclusions for the BTS.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11816
    • AVAST Software
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2010, 05:01:46 PM »
OK, I can see the problem... I'll fix it somehow.

mokkaman

  • Guest
Re: Boot Time Scan stops at first PUP
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2010, 05:21:17 PM »
we can make avast to finish the entire BTS and finally it shows a log with location of detected items..the user can select his options whether to delete or ignore here..thus BTS is neither automatically deletes files nor stops the scan and asks user..! ;)