Author Topic: Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL  (Read 22823 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sapherz

  • Guest
Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« on: July 14, 2004, 06:07:36 AM »
Hi
I just installed Avast on a friends computer for him and started a scan. Was taking too long and I couldn't wait to I stopped it. I also did an Adaware at the same time, and found tons of rubbish which I deleted. Now when I try to start Avast I get that error message. I tryed to re-install it, and the error comes up. I tried to remove it through add-remove programs, and I get the error?
What's happened? Did I do this?? I run Avast myself with no problems.
The computer this is happening on is an AMD K6 running Win ME
Thanks

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11867
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 09:40:02 AM »
What is the exact (full) error message?
What build of avast! is it?

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2004, 10:01:05 AM »
Avast
Avast hes caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL

Then something like, if the problem continues restart your system

Not sure of the build, downloaded the program form the site yesterday, and i think it updated something of itself after it was installed

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11867
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2004, 10:03:25 AM »
OK. There should be some more info in the error box, isn't it? Like, a "Details" button, opening a new part of the window with some numbers... could you post a screenshot of the message? Thanks!

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2004, 10:06:13 AM »
ok, ill do that tomorrow, I don't have the computer here at the mo

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2004, 03:58:07 AM »
ok got the messages, this one comes up when I double click the avast icon on the desktop, and when the computer starts, when it gets into windows

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2004, 05:14:02 AM »
I can't get a pic of the other error, which comes up after the other error on startup, but its in the same sort of alert window, no details buttons

Error Starting Program
A required .DLL file, VSRULEDB_LOC0C09.DLL, was not found.
[OK]

also, I'm not getting yet another error, which may or may not be related, I just uninstalled zone alarm, whice i had installed just after avast, so i could be from that

Error Starting Program
The IPHLPAPI.DLL fine cannot start. Check the file to determine the problem.
[OK]

did a search, the file is in the c:/windows/system folder

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48706
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2004, 05:40:11 AM »
Hi Sapherz
Welcome to the Forums.
Sorry your having a problem.
It would help if we had a little more info asto the type of system you have and what version of windows your running. Is this the first AV program or what did you have before?
You can try to repair the current install by going to add/remove programs, selecting avast! and then select repair. See if that helps.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2004, 05:56:59 AM »
Its an AMD K6 running Win ME. There was the symantic antivirus on the system, but avast did not pop up a message telling there was another virus checker on the system when i installed. I have uninstalled symantic after avast was installed.
If i go to add/remove programs and try to do something with avast from there, i get the first error message i have listed(ASWCMNB.DLL one)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2004, 03:02:34 PM »
I have uninstalled symantic after avast was installed.

Well, as I can see, avast was not properly installed  :'(
You should uninstall completely NAV (other Symantec products could remain).
It will be better if you look for a standalone registry cleaning from Symantec site. You can remove some 'left behind' registry keys.
Then install avast / boot and see what you get.
Wellcome on board

(Btw: why don't avast! detect the presence of NAV?)  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48706
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2004, 04:02:14 PM »
Hi Sapherz,
I suggest you do the following:
1 Follow this URL and download RejZoR program and run it.http://freeweb.siol.net/razor256/downloads/avast_external_control.zip
2 Select the tool to remove NAV
3 Reboot
4 Again Run Avast! External Control  (AEC )
5 Select the option to completely remove Avast.
6 Reboot
7 Re-install Avast.
Hopefull, you will now be in business.
Godd Luck and keep us informed. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2004, 07:05:20 AM »
ok, I tried to remove NAV but the removal tool dosen't work on Win ME. So I did a brutal remove of Avast, and there were still bits left, so I then did a Generic remove and Avast was gone. I tried to re-install but the error popped up again. But at least there are no more errors on boot. Is there a removal tool for NAV for ME??
I would like to remove it, as one of the programs has stuffed the internet I think (NAV/Avast/Zone Alarm) We can connect, but nothing goes through the connection. ie 'Page Cannot be Displayed'
Thanks for your help so far too

yoga

  • Guest
« Last Edit: July 16, 2004, 08:17:22 AM by yoga »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67185
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2004, 03:04:09 PM »
Did you try RejZoR's program?
http://freeweb.siol.net/razor256/downloads/avast_external_control.zip

You can't have two resident antivirus installed at the same computer  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48706
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2004, 12:04:11 AM »
Technical,
Wrong version,,,,
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet