Author Topic: Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL  (Read 22814 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #15 on: July 17, 2004, 12:27:25 PM »
Hmm, Windows ME really don't display any additional info about the crash? That's not good...
Isn't there some kind of DrWatson application in WinME that makes it possible to see more info about the crash (when DrWatson is running at the moment)?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2004, 02:03:12 PM »
igor,
Yes there is. There is also a repair function. You will however loose your Microsoft updates if you use the repair.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2004, 02:12:04 PM »
I'm not saying there's anything wrong with the OS itself... so there shouldn't be any need to "repair". I would only like to know more information about the crash (e.g. at what address did it happen at). DrWatson could help...

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2004, 04:01:09 AM »
ok, I used the RNAV a got rid of NAV, re-installed Avast and still get the error, and the internet is still not usable. I forgot to look for any DrWatson stuff but I will next time I'm there. Could it be something wrong with dll itself? Can I replace the dll?? ie, someone send me theirs?

yoga

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2004, 08:04:55 AM »
You might want to check also to see if Zone Alarm got completely uninstalled or not from the system.

http://nh2.nohold.net/noHoldCust25/Prod_1/Articles55646/CompleteUninstallNonNT.html


Also in addition to checking Drwatson, you might also want to try running Scandisk. Start-->Run-->type: scandisk. Run the standard test to see if it finds any errors.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2004, 08:33:59 AM by yoga »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2004, 08:12:56 AM »
If you ask me {but who is  8)} it is just a problem with the registry. Check if you can find any entries pointing to the file(s) that you see in the error messages and let us know. Don't forget to tell the key if you find them.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2004, 10:25:58 AM »
Could it be something wrong with dll itself?

If you reinstalled the program, the DLL itself should be OK (installer wouldn't extract a corrupted file).

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #22 on: July 20, 2004, 07:27:15 AM »
I searched registry for aswcmnb and got nothing.
I started DrWatson and then tried to start Avast, got the error as expected but now it had a details button. The diagnosis was as follows :

High level portable functions performed an invalid memory access.
Module Name: ASWCMNB.DLL
Description: High level portable functions
Version: 4, 1, 389, 0
Product: avast! Antivirus
Manufacturer: ALWIL Software

Application Name: Ashavast.exe
Description: Splash screen for Avast!
Version: 4, 1, 389, 0
Product: avast! Antivirus
Manufacturer: ALWIL Software



sorry I couldn't get a screenshot but I had no way of getting it back here as the computer still can't access the net, and there were no floppy disks around.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2004, 11:15:33 PM »
I don't know if your aware of it, but thats an old version. It should be
4.1.418
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2004, 11:37:11 PM »
I'll download the latested installer then, but the version shouldn't make much of a difference should it?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #25 on: July 21, 2004, 12:43:08 AM »
occasionally updates are created to fix problems.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #26 on: July 23, 2004, 01:41:19 AM »
uninstalled avast, and installed latest version. Got the same error, same message, same version listed in the error...

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #27 on: July 23, 2004, 04:45:15 PM »
Sapherz, please start DrWatson again and let avast! crash.
When the DrWatson window appears, go to the menu and select View / Advanced View. New pages should appear. Switch to the last page (Details) and send me the content of the page (as a PM).
Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2004, 04:45:45 PM by igor »

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2004, 03:44:01 AM »
Sorry its taken so long to get back to you. I have 2 log files, one from after the install, presumably when it went to start up Avast. And the other from after I double clicked the Avast icon on the desktop.
Thanks for helping.
I didn't pm you because I couldn't see how to attach to a pm.

Sapherz

  • Guest
Re:Avast has caused an error in ASWCMNB.DLL
« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2004, 03:45:05 AM »
And the other one