Author Topic: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen  (Read 9321 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Zantonian

  • Guest
PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« on: May 06, 2010, 02:39:49 PM »
I cant see the bootime Scan Screen when I do a bootime scan, so I do not know what to do and press for moving to chest  etc. I think it is in the dos/command/bios screen thingy the blue or black screen showing you what is being scaned and what to do for example: press 7 to move to chest press 5 to do whatever etc



please help!!!!!
Anton
« Last Edit: May 06, 2010, 02:52:30 PM by Zantonian »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2010, 02:40:38 PM »
What operating system is that?
What computer is that? (notebook, desktop, basic HW configuration...)

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2010, 02:43:36 PM »
Windows XP

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2010, 02:44:15 PM »
Sorry Desktop
Windows XP

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76051
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2010, 03:05:37 PM »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2010, 03:12:32 PM »
no i think it's still sp2

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2010, 03:15:33 PM »
its working fine on my home pc but here at work i can't see the screen showing the files being scanned
Even when i use system mechanics reg cleaner and do a reg compressing ( which normally shows during startup) there is only a blank screen

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2010, 03:17:13 PM »
do you thinks my BIOS/Command Screen is Stuffed?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2010, 03:18:51 PM »
Please post the content of the file C:\boot.ini

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2010, 03:21:49 PM »
Humm I Hope This Is It:



[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /noguiboot


Thanks

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76051
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2010, 03:24:49 PM »
no i think it's still sp2

Regardless to your problem, I would update to SP3, asap...!! (If you are on a 32 bit system..!)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2010, 03:26:25 PM »
Interesting...

The parameter /noguiboot is most likely causing the problem. If you remove it (you may have to reset the attributes of the file first, because it's probably set to read-only / system / hidden and you couldn't store the changes otherwise), it should be fixed, most likely without any side effects (unless you have tools like SoftIce installed ;)).
However, avast! should be looking for that parameter and remove it temporarily... I'll check if it works.

What version of avast! do you have - 4 or 5?

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2010, 03:28:35 PM »
I'm using V5
And yes i Had Softice on but its uninstalled now. (don't ask) :-[ :-X

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11820
    • AVAST Software
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2010, 03:30:45 PM »
Well, you can remove that switch. The worst thing that can happen (unless you change anything else in the boot.ini file!) is that the SoftIce screen will be corrupted... in which case you can put it there back later.

Zantonian

  • Guest
Re: PLEASE HELP can't see the bootime Scan Screen
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2010, 03:31:33 PM »
Ok I deleted that part and saved it.

Should I restart? will it crash the system? is tit save?