Author Topic: Avast Web Shield Intermitently Blocks all Browsing  (Read 5333 times)

davebush

Avast Web Shield Intermitently Blocks all Browsing
« on: May 20, 2007, 09:31:02 PM »
I've had a stable system, using XP SP2 and Avast for about a year - working with no problems. Currently I've got 4.7.1001

For about two weeks now the system has developed a problem - after running completely normally for a few hours, Web Shield stops any access to the Web.

I've just proved this by stopping and starting the provider. (I didn't realize Avast intercepted Web traffic, so it's taken me a few days to narrow the problem down!)

It may be that this is connected somehow to running MusicMatch Jukebox (Version 8.10 which I've been using for 4 years), as when the system has failed, stopping and restarting this program will restore access (for a short while.)

At another time, closing all browsers and restarting did sometimes work.

To me this sounds like a bug in Avast - any opinions?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Avast Web Shield Intermitently Blocks all Browsing
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 09:39:37 PM »
Well it's WebShield working...
Which firewall do you use? Isn't ashWebSv.exe blocked into firewall setings?
Do you use a proxy to connect the Internet?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2007, 11:35:11 PM »
I can't see how this can happen intermittently, web shield would be scanning all downloaded http port 80 traffic and you shouldn't notice an effect, it should be either slow all the time or normal.

Because you say closing browsers and re-opening sometimes works to clear it if this was truely a web shield bug then that shouldn't have any effect. I suspect some sort of interaction with another application, because by disabling web shield resolves it as you take one side of any potential conflict away.