Author Topic: Firewall offered by Avast?  (Read 19756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42760
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2004, 12:36:28 PM »
Hi Lee
Here are the results from Sygate:
Trying to find out your computer name...
Unable to determine your computer name!
 
Trying to find out what services you are running...
 Unable to detect any running services!

And at ShieldsUp, I also passed. ;D ;D ;D
 
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2004, 12:57:45 PM »
Hi bob

That is good,
But if you go back to http://scan.sygate.com/ you will notice that down the left side there are other scans aswell as the one you did (quick scan,stealth scan ect), you should see if you pass them aswell.

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42760
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2004, 02:38:31 PM »
Ok Lee
I've just finished every test and ZA passed 100% nothing got thru.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2004, 05:09:22 PM »
Good to hear bob

I almost comleatly pass the sygate check, but there are 2 ports on my computer that are only closed rather then stealthed, but its still pritty good since im not using a hardware firewall at the moment and im only using a free firewall.


EDIT: Also bob i just found another check, and was suprised to find some info about my security i didn't know about, i don't think its to important though, its was checking IE faults, i didn't have any exploits but it said " VBScript is activated!" and "Invocation of secure ActiveX controls is activated."
see how well you do, http://onlinecheck.emsisoft.com/en/

EDIT2: BTW , one of the tests said to close the firewall while testing (port scan), and when it tested it said port "135: open!" while the firewall was closed, is this a big probel if my firewall is normaly on.


--lee
« Last Edit: July 29, 2004, 05:24:11 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42760
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #19 on: July 29, 2004, 07:00:12 PM »
Hi lee
You should be fine cause the firewall is active and as long as it is, that port would not be available without your knowledge.
I took the other test and it's also fine. I bypassed the test where I'm supposed to turn off my fire wall.
I refused to turn it off no matter what the reason. I don't know emsisoft.com from Adam. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2004, 03:56:40 AM »
Bob, you're be happy to know I'm now testing Outpost  ;D
ZA version 5 is empting my CPU useage...  :(
The best things in life are free.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2004, 04:02:21 AM »
Well my friend, you won't regret. Outpost is the best of the best. I tried ZA and Sygate, Outpost, went back to Sygate, but believe me there is no better software firewall than Agnitum Outpost... I'm happy Outpost user again ! Hurray !

Cheers !

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2004, 04:18:20 AM »
Sasha, can anybody 'export' the Outpost settings... (rules, configurations, etc.) to be compared with the others' ones?
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42760
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2004, 04:34:34 AM »
Technical,
I hate to tell you this but I ran into a prob. with outpostand have gone back to ZA. The latest version is working like a charm on my system.
The only thing is it still doesn't recognize Avast! as an AV program.
For some reason, Outpost was causing my computer to not boot on an intermittend basis.
I did run ZA thru all the tests today and it passed with flying colors.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2004, 11:53:27 AM »
I've never heard something like that Bob... why do you think Outpost is causing your computer not to boot ? Firewall settings have nothing to do with your boot sequence (when starting PC). Maybe you meant you have problems logging into Windows. Outpost is very silent firewall, it doesn't ask you too many questions and it's very very light on system resources...
here on my computer, it fits like a glove... works just great.

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2004, 12:07:02 PM »
Quote
there is no better software firewall than Agnitum Outpost

Really they are all pritty good, they all do things the others can't, i have used ZA, nortan (junk) and sygate firewall.
Nortan used alot of resourses, ZA has security holes in the free version which i don't like but sygate seems to work like a charm and you can hide it.
But i have never used outpost because im told it is very complicated.


Quote
The only thing is it still doesn't recognize Avast! as an AV program.

Like nortan it will only pick up its own products.


Quote
For some reason, Outpost was causing my computer to not boot on an intermittend basis.

Did you try a clean reinstall bob?


Quote
I did run ZA thru all the tests today and it passed with flying colors

So did sygate

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #26 on: July 30, 2004, 12:17:51 PM »
Quote
But i have never used outpost because im told it is very complicated.

That's not true Lee... Outpost has so nice and easy to use GUI. Everything is at your hand, organized and very logical.

It asks you for permission when some program is trying to make connection. If you want you can give it permission, if not, you don't have to... just like Sygate. The problem with sygate is, it eats little bit more resources than Outpost (not too much, but it's still more than Outpost uses). I gave up on Sygate the moment when it started to make me some problems without any reason... last few days when I was still using it, it started to give me error message when I shut down my PC. Something like Sygate Firewall program error and bunch of numbers, or something like that. I wasn't able to see whole message 'cause as soon as I start to read, PC is already in rebooting process... I tried to uninstall Sygate, cleaned all registry keys (I really mean it, all of them), reinstall it again and nothing helped... it looks like it fights with some other program in my PC.

Hovewer, Outpost really deserves to be on your computer. Don't be affraid, give it a try...  ;)

Regards !

Sasha
« Last Edit: July 30, 2004, 12:18:15 PM by ..:: SZC ::.. »

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2004, 12:40:48 PM »
Quote
it started to make me some problems without any reason... last few days when I was still using it, it started to give me error message when I shut down my PC. Something like Sygate Firewall program error and bunch of numbers, or something like that. I wasn't able to see whole message 'cause as soon as I start to read, PC is already in rebooting process

Did you inform sygate company about this?, you should always do that


Quote
I tried to uninstall Sygate, cleaned all registry keys (I really mean it, all of them)

Thats a point, why do uninstall utilitys never compleatly work, i reinstalled avast! before but noticed that it left many registry keys, it wern't a problem as i was reinstalling it, but was just confused to as why it did that, what would happen if i did remove all the avast! regisrt keys while uninstalling?

--lee
« Last Edit: July 30, 2004, 12:41:09 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #28 on: July 30, 2004, 01:54:21 PM »
Did you inform sygate company about this?, you should always do that

No I didn't 'cause I couldn't read whole message, so I didn't know what to tell them... anyway, it was much easier just to switch to Outpost. I like it very very much.

Quote
Thats a point, why do uninstall utilitys never compleatly work, i reinstalled avast! before but noticed that it left many registry keys, it wern't a problem as i was reinstalling it, but was just confused to as why it did that, what would happen if i did remove all the avast! regisrt keys while uninstalling?
--lee

Nothing, except you would prepare your PC for installing some other antivirus (in case you want that) product much better - like clean install. Same situation with firewalls. In case you want to install some other firewall product one day, make sure you always completely uninstall old one, reboot your system, remove all registry keys containing information about firewall you want to remove, reboot again, and then you are ready to install new one. You don't wanna anything conflicting with your new pet...  ;)

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #29 on: July 30, 2004, 02:25:52 PM »
i am on your side Bob , I also have ZA and find it works great . Fortunately resources aren`t an issue so i also see no need to experiment.
  Sasha i hope that signature of yours doesn`t stir up any more. If you know what I mean. ;) 8)
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit