Author Topic: Some comments on Avast! External Control utility  (Read 15121 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Goomish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • "I'm a llama!" O yeah?! Who said that!! :-))
Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« on: July 14, 2004, 01:52:01 PM »
First of all: @RejZoR - AEC is a very nice (hmm... maybe even excellent  ;D) piece of software.
But I have some, let's say, remarks:
1. If the program must be in setup wizard like form please add a button "Back to task list" or something like that. It's very annoying (IMHO) run it again and again when you need/must perform several task aone by one
2. While #1 is a little wish from me this one is more important: When AEC tries to "call home" - Visit Security Ops webpage it shold launch default browser, not IE Some of us don't want to use IE especially after latest "discoveries" ;D concernig IE safety...
Regards, goomish
« Last Edit: July 14, 2004, 01:52:21 PM by Goomish »
66%... Please wait,  signature is loading

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 01:59:43 PM »
Thanks :)

Hehe i'm still working on first part. Not quiet sure (yet) how to make that AEC doesn't exits after each command. Yeah i know its annoying even to me ;D I have some ideas,but nothing realized yet :)

About second part. The whole idea of running in IE is that its due its nature of the page. It works fine in all browsers,but most of services on the page depend on ActiveX (almost all On-Line antiviruses+some online anti-spyware sites),so i choosed IE as default viewer for security-ops page.
You can still add this page as bookmark in your favorite browser to use it regulary with Jotti and RAV/KAV scanner which doesn't require ActiveX.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2004, 06:36:59 PM »
Hehe i'm still working on first part. Not quiet sure (yet) how to make that AEC doesn't exits after each command. Yeah i know its annoying even to me ;D I have some ideas,but nothing realized yet :)

Hi RejZoR,

My "programming" experience is strictly in high-level languages (particularly dBase) so might not be adaptable to your project.  But typically I'll set up an application in the following format.  And any good DOS batch file follows essentially the same layout.

(Begin loop)
display menu
get menu choice (which can include exiting)
specific sub-routine based on choice
loop back to top
(end of loop)

Obviously you're more skilled than me in your particular area, and as I said it might be totally alien and hence not adaptable.  But maybe it'll trigger a useful intuitive flash for you?

Best,
Mike
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Staind

  • Guest
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2004, 10:59:11 PM »
It'd be nice if after the program has completed it's task, instead of closing to the desktop brought you back to the menu page.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2004, 02:56:51 AM »
It'd be nice if after the program has completed it's task, instead of closing to the desktop brought you back to the menu page.

I've asked this before but RejZoR said me it won't be possible  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5092
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2004, 03:54:59 AM »
It'd be nice if after the program has completed it's task, instead of closing to the desktop brought you back to the menu page.

I've asked this before but RejZoR said me it won't be possible  :'(
Yes RejZoR does not know programming language. I could code the program for him in Cocoa but then it would only run on Mac OS X and thats not very useful. Mabye le Doc could code it in Java?
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2004, 04:25:38 AM »
Rej,

Are you saying that the Utility requires Active X to function?  I could not get the Avast Ext. Ctl. to work with my Win98....but I have IE Active X shut down.

What do you think is the problem?
It is a great utility which works fine on my XP but I really want it on my Win98 as well.

Techie

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46154
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2004, 04:43:30 AM »
Hi Techie101
You might have to update that old 98 to XP
Not a big deal, just hang a sign on it afterward  Win98SE_XP! ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Le Doc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
  • Computer obey to orders, not to intentions.
    • La Halle online
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2004, 12:14:45 AM »
It'd be nice if after the program has completed it's task, instead of closing to the desktop brought you back to the menu page.

I've asked this before but RejZoR said me it won't be possible  :'(
Yes RejZoR does not know programming language. I could code the program for him in Cocoa but then it would only run on Mac OS X and thats not very useful. Mabye le Doc could code it in Java?

Well of course i could do that but i'm already on the tweaker project and i don't want (not able) to "drive" many projects at a time. The second on my list is a query from Sasha for a "quick launch task bar". Well this one could be third on my list if RejZoR is still blocked on the "restart" problem and if he wants to share his work. Don't forget that AEC is his baby   ;)

Avast HE 4.1.418 (french)
Windows 2000 PRO (french) - SP4 + patches
nforce 2 motherboard (IGP)
AMD 1800+, 512 MB, 160 GB + 40 GB

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2004, 07:19:51 AM »
Hehe i was on vacation last week and and i got some pretty ideas.
Close after every function might be fixed,also settings for proxy (Updates) and some other things.

The problem is that i have to rewrite most of the scripts so it will take time.
I'm also thinking about removing some not so used functions like Launch avast! Log Viewer/Chest and Optimization wizard. After some testis i found out that its useless lol :) I'll also move Status check page into function menus (because of the restart fix).
Oh and AEC doesn't require ActiveX :)

When i release this fixed version it will most probably be marked as version 2.0 :)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2004, 03:08:48 PM »
RejZoR...

1. proxy (Updates) > Thanks.

2. removing some not so used functions like Launch avast! Log Viewer/Chest and Optimization wizard. > Why? Can't it be there in a sub-menu?

3. Status check page into function menus (because of the restart fix) > Thanks.

4. AEC doesn't require ActiveX :) > Nice!
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2004, 03:42:49 PM »
Also status check page will be copy&pasteable (like current File Compare function),so others will be able to easily copy the info and paste it on forums for fast troubleshooting.
I'll reconsider those features,but Optimization Wizard will be removed,thats for sure. After in-depth tests i found that files are optimized even if they are running in background.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2004, 03:54:45 PM »
Optimization Wizard will be removed,thats for sure. After in-depth tests i found that files are optimized even if they are running in background.

Well, if you say so... never minds, take it away  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46154
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2004, 04:13:19 PM »
Hi RejZoR,
Here are my 2 cents worth and of cource you can take it just for that.
The additions you mentioned will be greatly appreciated. The items you intend to remove, will be sorely missed.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5092
Re:Some comments on Avast! External Control utility
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2004, 04:34:13 PM »
Quote
When i release this fixed version it will most probably be marked as version 2.0
Woah. At that speed you will run out of version numbers  ;D
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay