Author Topic: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545  (Read 15561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« on: May 07, 2010, 10:38:22 PM »
I get a errorwith Firefox 3.6.3 when i'am running it in the sandbox and it won't start , when i run Firefox out of the Sandbox it does run. Can someone help me with this please????

Greats,

rnuis
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 10:45:00 PM »
I'm running FF 3.6.3 inside the sandbox as I'm typing this.
What is the error message you're getting?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 10:58:24 PM »
(0xc000007b)  this is the message that i get when i'am running it in the sandbox . i'am running it now out off the sandbox.
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 10:59:12 PM »
I got an issue, just found now, when running Firefox sandboxed >>> most of my plugins don't appear in the plugin list panel + flash doesn't work ;) ...meaning the plugins that don't appear are really not loaded.
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 11:02:18 PM »
(0xc000007b)  this is the message that i get when i'am running it in the sandbox . i'am running it now out off the sandbox.

you mind translating from Dutch?  ;D (the error message)
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2010, 11:07:39 PM »
...following my last post about plugins behavior when FF is sandboxed >>> sandbox settings: when internet access is granted to all apps instead of just web browsers (default setting I think), all plugins miraculously appear again in sandboxed Firefox ;D
w7 - ais7

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2010, 11:15:26 PM »
...following my last post about plugins behavior when FF is sandboxed >>> sandbox settings: when internet access is granted to all apps instead of just web browsers (default setting I think), all plugins miraculously appear again in sandboxed Firefox ;D

Where are these settings then??
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2010, 11:21:13 PM »
...following my last post about plugins behavior when FF is sandboxed >>> sandbox settings: when internet access is granted to all apps instead of just web browsers (default setting I think), all plugins miraculously appear again in sandboxed Firefox ;D

Using virtualization, I also only allow web brouwers to access the internet ( 3rd option ) and everything is working fine here. I suggest you email Petr about it ;)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2010, 11:23:13 PM »
...following my last post about plugins behavior when FF is sandboxed >>> sandbox settings: when internet access is granted to all apps instead of just web browsers (default setting I think), all plugins miraculously appear again in sandboxed Firefox ;D

Using virtualization, I also only allow web brouwers to access the internet ( 3rd option ) and everything is working fine here. I suggest you email Petr about it ;)

Greetz, Red.

do you get all plugins loaded in Firefox  with your settings?
w7 - ais7

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2010, 11:26:15 PM »
Yes, that was, reading your issue, the first thing I checked. Extensions, themes and plug-ins are all there.

Greetz, Red.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 11:28:45 PM by Rednose »
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2010, 11:28:46 PM »
...following my last post about plugins behavior when FF is sandboxed >>> sandbox settings: when internet access is granted to all apps instead of just web browsers (default setting I think), all plugins miraculously appear again in sandboxed Firefox ;D

Using virtualization, I also only allow web brouwers to access the internet ( 3rd option ) and everything is working fine here. I suggest you email Petr about it ;)

Greetz, Red.

Red,

Waar vindt ik deze instellingen van da sandbox??

Where do i find these settings from the sandbox??
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2010, 11:32:19 PM »
Yes, that was, reading your issue, the first thing I checked. Extensions, themes and plug-ins are all there.

Greetz, Red.

I tried a second time without excluding safe locations this time and it still doesn't work, no plugins loaded...
w7 - ais7

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2010, 11:36:17 PM »
Where do i find these settings from the sandbox??

Process Virtualization - Expert Settings - Internet Access

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2081
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2010, 11:43:33 PM »
rnuis, what's your OS + Service pack? (see "Control panel -> System"), do you use 32-bit or 64-bit OS? Thanks.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: Firefox doesn't start in sandbox with Avast 5.0.545
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2010, 11:45:48 PM »
I just noticed this same thing; opened Ffox sandboxed, no flash or silverlight,(Adobe Acrbt/Java toolkit still there).......opened OUT of sandbox, they all appear........re-open IN sandbox, they all appear..........re-opened IN sandbox again(back 2 back) and they are gone once more ???
Signature?  But I gots no pen....