Author Topic: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?  (Read 3579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nweissma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« on: May 22, 2010, 09:15:06 PM »
I am using Avast Pro (of course, no complaints!)
I am also using IE8 on Vista 32.


i ask whether there is benefit, or detriment, to be had by installing Microsoft "Security Essentials" http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/ in addition to Avast Pro.

Offline superhumanbean

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 414
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 09:17:39 PM »
I wouldn't suggest using that because having two running antivirus programs may cause problems. They'll conflict with each other, so it's worse than having just one. Hope this helps. :)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU / 16 GB RAM / Avast Ultimate / MBAM Free

Offline logos

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 09:18:44 PM »
completely unneeded...why use two AV ??? MSE is good too, but you must choose + if you install it on top of Avast it might conflict with it. MSE is a full antivirus solution, with a service running etc...meaning that even if you deactivate the resident protection, its drivers will be loaded and run processes in parallel with Avast services. Not good.
w7 - ais7

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 10:44:43 PM »
I agree, don't ever run two AV's. We have MSE on the Vista machine here and so far , so good. It's simpler to use but the one thing I'm not real fond of is that it uses the Windows Update mechanisms to update it's database.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 11:23:38 PM »
Not to use with avast.
They could work for a while. Then will conflict and fight to the detection and for the files. It's the same history of having to applications as residents trying to do the same.
You need to chose. The problems, when happen, is that one antivirus could avoid the detection of the other. Here two is NOT synonym of more secure.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1944
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2010, 08:50:05 AM »
If your going to use both you should turn off resident protection in MSE. Check my post here. You can then scan with MSE as a second opinion.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=59852.msg504804#msg504804


« Last Edit: May 24, 2010, 06:31:03 PM by Marc57 »
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!

Offline taztime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Windows "Security Essentials" -- To Use or Not To Use?
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2010, 01:58:00 PM »
I was using Microsoft Security Essentials for awhile with Avast; but it slowed down my old computer to a crawl.  So I uninstalled Microsoft Security Essentials and just started using Avast by it's self.  The computer started running faster with just Avast on the system.