Author Topic: update avast 5 ...ERROR !  (Read 19919 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline miciotta62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01
update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« on: May 24, 2010, 05:49:20 PM »
i have no web connection...i try to download the database for
avast 5 free.

but when i go to update say ERROR ! why ?

help me..kiss
win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83794
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 06:23:28 PM »
What is the full text of the error ?

What is your firewall ?
Does it allow avast.setup internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and do a manual update, this should force the firewall to ask permission again.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 06:30:06 PM »
This issue sounds almost similar to mine.  I purchased Avast (3 user)
5.0.545 a few weeks ago.  I use MagicJack as my home telephone.
Since installing Avast, my phone calls continue to be dropped, without
warning.  MagicJack has tried helping, I'm thinking this  is an avast
issue.  Can anyone, Please, offer help on settings...or has anyone had
this problem...that Avast & MagicJack conflict?
Thank You.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44131
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 06:41:56 PM »
I use MagicJack and have avast!5. I don't have any conflicts.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline miciotta62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2010, 09:18:35 AM »
what is the exact link to daowmload the stand-alone update database for Avast 5 ?

best and kiss Mery
win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66871
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2010, 09:29:58 AM »
You can download it here: http://www.avast.com/download-update
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline miciotta62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2010, 10:02:46 AM »
yes i download here ! but this the ERROR:

http://it.tinypic.com/r/am9yck/6

why ???
win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2010, 11:43:07 AM »
BOB,

Ever since I purchased Avast 5 (3 years, approx $100.00), my MagicJack telephone calls are
dropped, without warning.  The firewall goes crazy, all over the board, and the call goes dead.
This is NOT my imagination, I realize You're not having the same problem, but I need someone with
technical skills to help me...OR I want my money refunded.  I'm sure this is a great antivirus,
BUT it doesn't do me any good if I'm unable to use my telephone.  I've sent a request for help
to Avast, so far no response....should I contact CNET?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44131
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2010, 02:47:58 PM »
redc0ugar,
I don't know if contacting CNET  will solve your problem.
You asked if any one else used MagicJack and I replied.
The fact that I don't have any problems also isn't my imagination.
Bragging about my technical skills wouln't solve your problem either.
What operating system are you using? What version of avast!5 are you running ? (Pro or IS)
If it's the Pro version, which firewall are you using?  Are you using a router and which one ???
The more information you provide, the greater the chances are that you'll receive an answer to your problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2010, 08:33:14 PM »
Bob,
I'm so sorry that I was rude. Besides working full time, I'm a caregiver to my Mother (alzheimers), Husband (diabetes), and Daughter (autism).  It's so embarrassing, when I'm on the phone with
Dr's & the phone calls are dropped.

My OS is Vista 64 bit. Avast 5 IS.  I use a linksys wireless router to get computer service on our
second floor.
Being I'm having such a difficult time & my computer skills are minimal, do You believe I might have
a chance at getting a prorated refund?  I purchased this program 4/24/2010 for $100.00.
Thank You.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2010, 08:36:01 PM »
redc0ugar, we can guide you and help to troubleshoot. Anyway, you can always ask for a refund.
Which was your old antivirus and firewall before AIS?
The best things in life are free.

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2010, 08:55:43 PM »
Thank You so much for responding.
I had the paid version of Windows One Care (antivirus & firewall).
Please, if the fix is too technical, for MagicJack, how can I request
a refund?

Respectfully....
Patricia

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2010, 12:30:22 AM »
I had the paid version of Windows One Care (antivirus & firewall).
Was it fully uninstalled?

Please, if the fix is too technical, for MagicJack, how can I request a refund?
Probably the site you've bought it (the reseller) or an email to sales (at) avast (dot) com.
The best things in life are free.

Offline miciotta62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2010, 11:12:36 AM »

for my problem?

http://it.tinypic.com/r/am9yck/6

why not possible to update with the database avast 5 ????
win xp pro SP2 32 bit - firefox 8.01

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2010, 11:42:04 AM »
I had the paid version of Windows One Care (antivirus & firewall).
Was it fully uninstalled?
Yes.  I uninstalled Windows One Care.  Just now I did a "search" and did not find
anything with the program's name.  Would it be really difficult to fix, so Avast's Firewall
quits interfering with my MagicJack telephone calls?

Please, if the fix is too technical, for MagicJack, how can I request a refund?
Probably the site you've bought it (the reseller) or an email to sales (at) avast (dot) com.