Author Topic: Error?? server is down?? what?  (Read 4014 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zkaterboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Go With God, Be Safe From Trojans :-D
Error?? server is down?? what?
« on: July 16, 2004, 09:55:11 PM »
hi... this error message just popped up a moment ago... my father got the same message(using 2 computers at home) and i wonder what it is?? and i cant update.. so.. im afraid of new viruses...

Information about current update:
Last encountered error: Server www.asw.cz (unknown:80) is down.

so ehh..... do i need to download avast! again??..
Go to: www.clanofnemesis.tk, the ultimate Halo 2 Clan :-D

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2004, 10:18:37 PM »
zk,

The "server down" error can occur for a few different reasons.

First, if you use a firewall, Avast must be granted access in every instance requested (usually 3)...for the files Ashmai, Ashdisp, and Avastsetup.  This is necessary to download the updates for the VPS.

Second, it may just be that the server was busy.  I just received an update message, so today was an update issued.  Try again and let me know if you connect.

Also, I would recommend that you set Avast to download updates for BOTH program and VPS.

Glad to have you on the forum.

Techie

Offline Gillie2tat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
    • Tatting at Bella Online
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2004, 10:20:58 PM »
I also get that message occasionally if I am logged off the Internet and Avast tries to update itself.   Usually it's fine once I am online.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2004, 10:46:06 PM »
See 'Settings' link at my signature and at the bottom of that page search for [InetWD] section. There you can see the settings to delay the automatic update of avast at boot time. 60 seconds should be enough but, if you have a long boot (lot of startup programs), you can set a little bit more ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline zkaterboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Go With God, Be Safe From Trojans :-D
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2004, 12:11:34 AM »
thanks all!!

i´ve updated normal since i got avast... but now(after about 3months) my update doesnt seem to work!!... we both use zonealarm pro(me & my father) so is that the problem?? avast asked for permission to act as a server, and i clicked allow.. then it tried to access the internet.. pressed allow again.. but still some server 80 is down.... i dont have a slow boot(bout 8secs to finish) so it cant be that.. or what?? we have instant access to the net(cable) so im online all the time... i´ll try turning zonealarm of and update.....    
Go to: www.clanofnemesis.tk, the ultimate Halo 2 Clan :-D

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46141
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2004, 02:03:22 AM »
zkaterboy
If your using ZA5, it could be ZA. There are still unresolves problems with the new version on some machines. Try reverting back to ZA4.5 and see it that cures your problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2004, 01:42:52 PM »
avast asked for permission to act as a server, and i clicked allow...

No, it's not necessary. avast does not need server rights to work properly.
The problem seems to be at ZA. Follow Bob's suggestion.
The best things in life are free.

Offline zkaterboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Go With God, Be Safe From Trojans :-D
Re:Error?? server is down?? what?
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2004, 10:23:42 PM »
tried bobs solution... and now im updating again!! thank you all for helping me out here!! couldnt figure it out myself!!
Go to: www.clanofnemesis.tk, the ultimate Halo 2 Clan :-D