Author Topic: [Solved] avast is NOT updating automatically  (Read 12348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2010, 09:21:28 PM »
The default Update, Proxy setting is Auto detect (use the IE settings), so change to No proxy if you don't already have that set and don't use a proxy.
1st situation: auto detect. Result: no automatic updates.
Actual situation: no proxy. Result: the same, no automatic updates.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85081
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2010, 09:26:36 PM »
I was just conforming what the default was really. I have no idea why this is happening as the No Proxy seting usually resolves this problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2010, 09:32:58 PM »
I was just conforming what the default was really. I have no idea why this is happening as the No Proxy seting usually resolves this problem.
Any other suggestion?
I hate when we do not receive help when we can't do it by ourselves.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85081
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2010, 09:43:02 PM »
Well having gone over the topic again opening the images, I didn't before, I see a glaring error (depends on your connection method) in your second image, you have the Update Parameters set to Dial-up. If you have broadband, which I think is the case then this would likely fail auto updates.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2010, 09:52:15 PM »
Well having gone over the topic again opening the images, I didn't before, I see a glaring error (depends on your connection method) in your second image, you have the Update Parameters set to Dial-up. If you have broadband, which I think is the case then this would likely fail auto updates.
Good. I'll test it. I've missed it.
But the update period should work regardless the connection type.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2010, 09:55:36 PM »
David. You've saved my day.
It was that precisely. avast auto updated automatically now.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85081
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2010, 10:55:35 PM »
You're welcome, sometimes it is the obvious that gets missed.

The update period would probably still be hunting for a dial-up connection and I don't know if it would ignore the fact that you have a broadband connection.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2010, 03:19:05 PM »
Confirmed. It's working.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85081
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [Solved] avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2010, 03:41:00 PM »
Good news for a change then ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Archibald

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [Solved] avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2010, 09:34:12 PM »
Hi I'm using Avast from some time and I really like it. Unfortunately it stopped automatic updates since I went to the latest version. It was last updated on 21 of May, when I did the last manual update.
I tried reinstalling and it didn't help. There is no error, it just won't update it automatically, even thought all automatic updates are scheduled. Computer is running for many hours a day so there shouldn't a problem with that.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: [Solved] avast is NOT updating automatically
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2010, 04:15:42 AM »
Archibald, can you post screenshots of all your update settings?
Proxy, update period, way you connect the Internet...
And also your system configuration? (firewall, operational system...).
The best things in life are free.