Author Topic: POP errors with Thunderbird  (Read 5140 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline emblue2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
POP errors with Thunderbird
« on: May 27, 2010, 02:09:10 PM »
I'm suddenly getting errors when I attempt to check POP email via Thunderbird (not for all of my email accounts, just the ones hosted at GoDaddy).  If I turn off Avast, it works just fine.

Outgoing mail is okay -- it's just incoming that's the problem.

Thunderbird version 3.0.4
Avast Program 5.0.545
Avast Engine & Definitions 100527-0 (just updated overnight, so maybe that caused the issue?)

Email settings are pop.secureserver.net and Port: 110

Help?  Thanks.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37132
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2010, 02:11:04 PM »
and what is the error message ?

Offline emblue2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 02:13:10 PM »
The error message has "Alert" in the title bar, and then a message of:

An error occurred with the POP3 mail server. Mail server pop.secureserver.net responded:

(There's nothing else after that -- it's blank underneath.)

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37132
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2010, 02:20:20 PM »
and are you sure that the mailserver is up and running ? no work going on...

Offline emblue2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2010, 02:55:44 PM »
Yes, as I said, if I turn off Avast, incoming mail works just fine.

Offline emblue2010

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2010, 12:04:04 AM »
I removed all entries from the Real-Time Shields...Mail Shield...Expert Settings...SSL Accounts screen, and then checked email and it worked.  So problem solved.  (Just posting in case anyone else has a similar problem.)

Offline Magnum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2010, 04:43:58 PM »
This problem realization until the relevance! When the ekrene checking mail, get the mail can be, but does not send offers!
We have to turn off the screen to check email while posting =) Before you could just uncheck the options to check outgoing messages but now it is not helpful for = (Hopefully that will correct this mistake, because it is a mistake avast and its developers!

Offline logos

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2010, 05:50:50 PM »
This problem realization until the relevance! When the ekrene checking mail, get the mail can be, but does not send offers!
We have to turn off the screen to check email while posting =) Before you could just uncheck the options to check outgoing messages but now it is not helpful for = (Hopefully that will correct this mistake, because it is a mistake avast and its developers!

what the hell are you talking about ??? ;D >>> may be use another translate utility ???
w7 - ais7

Offline Magnum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2010, 08:52:36 PM »
what the hell are you talking about ??? ;D >>> may be use another translate utility ???

So Sorry that this office does not support the Russian speaking users!

Offline De Hollander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2010, 09:16:02 PM »
Let me see if I get this  ;D , You're are able to receive mail but unable to send mail if the mail shield  is enabled.  To get around this problem, in the past you just uncheck scanning for outgoing mail, but that doesn't work anymore.

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: POP errors with Thunderbird
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2010, 10:16:34 PM »
Ah, had the same here yesterday and wondered why, as POP had been OK the day before.

Opened Avast, Mail Shield, SSL Accounts and found non-secure POP connections in there. Deleted them and POP was OK again.
Today, after another VPS update, 1 of the POPs was back in!
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall