Author Topic: ActiveX problem.  (Read 3362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline freakydude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
ActiveX problem.
« on: July 19, 2004, 05:20:47 PM »
I installed Avast, and now I can't use IE, Avast anti virus controls, or anything else that is using ActiveX. I don't know if ActiveX is contributing to the problem, but everytime I click yes to let it go. It crashes. Here's the message it gives me.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85640
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2004, 06:31:33 PM »
Hi freakydude,

This is not an avast warning/error message and is to do with your Security settings in Internet Explorer.

You don't say what version of avast you are using?

Have you changed anything recently or updated windows, the new reccomendation is for a Security setting of High for Internet browsing, which would activate these warning prompts.

What website were you visiting, does this happen at multiple sites?

See image for idea of settings.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2004, 06:32:59 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline freakydude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2004, 07:08:36 PM »
I'm using the newest version of Avast Pro. I set my settings at medium low, and the prompt doesn't show up. It still crashes though. I tried it with multiple sites, and it's still crashes.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85640
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2004, 12:57:07 AM »
URLs as requested, so someone can check if they can replicate the problem/warning?

The fact that you have changed the internet explorer settings to medium low and no warning but still a crash (any error messages, how severe is the crash, etc). This would lead me to believe it is not avast.

Are you using the script protection in avast pro?

Have you installed any windows patches that would coincide with this problem?

What OS are you using?

Try to be as comprehensive as possible there is very little information here to be able to help.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline freakydude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2004, 01:08:54 AM »
I'"m running Windows XP. I tried several urls like newgrounds.com, microsoft.com, and even the windows update page. I am using the script protection. No error messages show up except the one about sending the problem to microsoft.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85640
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2004, 01:09:09 AM »
Just read something in another post that may or may not be related, because it is about javascript and the avast pro script blocker.

Check out post two in this thread and if you understand it and know how to do it I would suggest trying that tip/trick.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1409;start=0

Let me (and others reading this later) know how you get on
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline freakydude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2004, 01:37:29 AM »
It was that stupid Norton Antivirus that messed up java for the whole computer. Thanks for helping me David.
Here's the link that helped me:
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/docid/2004020909040706?Open&src=sg&docid=2003080311011006&nsf=nav.nsf&view=5e19e84a28547fe188256d4e006aaa95&dtype=&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2004%20Professional%20Edition&osv=&osv_lvl=

Someone might want to sticky a post about Norton and java. I'll write the post if anybody would like me to.

Offline dadkins_1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Avast Rocks
Re:ActiveX problem.
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2004, 05:59:15 PM »
Thanks freakydude! Yet another problem that "N" causes.

I'll have to add this to my list of problems related to ex-Norton users' systems. Geezs, what doesn't that AV mess up?  ::)
Not everything that goes up comes back down.