Author Topic: videons  (Read 7497 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
videons
« on: July 20, 2004, 02:14:49 PM »
hi,
i have just done a scan with Trend Micro online and it said i have a possible virus called videons32.exe in C:/videos32.exe.
I have scanned with Avast! and it said it was clean, but i stuck it in the   virus chest anyway, i would like to email it to ALWIL software for testing, is there anything i need to do it first like zip it up?

EDIT: by the way when i did stick it in the virus chest i noticed it was still in C:/videons32.exe, is this suppost to happen?

--lee
« Last Edit: July 20, 2004, 02:17:55 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:videons
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2004, 02:21:04 PM »
videons32.exe is not the name of a virus, it is a filename. Can you post the virus name as reported bt Trend here? Also run some other online scanners to see what they say about it and post the results here.

If you would like the Avast people have a look at it, send it to virus@avast.com

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2004, 02:29:57 PM »
i don't no the name because it is only a possible virus, where the name should be it says "possible virus" , RAv online file scan and kaspersky read it as clean aswell, but i would still like to send it to ALWIL software to be safe, am i right in saying you have to password Zip the file/virus first?

--lee
« Last Edit: July 20, 2004, 02:30:29 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:videons
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2004, 02:40:23 PM »
No need to password zip it, just send it.

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2004, 03:54:44 PM »
well i send it via virus chest, it sent though outlook express and said error but it still said it was sent to avast!, so just need to wait and see really.
Do avast! reply when you send them a sample to test?

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44301
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:videons
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2004, 01:12:54 AM »
Hi Lee
The virus is W32.Gaobot.AZT
You can learn more about it here:
http://sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.gaobot.azt.html
Let us know how you make out.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2004, 12:54:52 PM »
well i started in safe mode and the regisry keys weren't there, so i just deleated videons32.exe and now my system seems clean (i tryed scanning with avast and trend micro again), so i think its safe to leave it at that.

EDIT: no wait, its come back on a restart, damn

--lee
« Last Edit: July 21, 2004, 12:58:18 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:videons
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2004, 12:59:47 PM »
1) Disable system restore
2) Reboot
3) Clean the system
4) Reboot
5) See if the system is clean

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2004, 01:08:51 PM »
Well before i saw your reply i had scanned again with trend micro and pressed deleat this time and it seems to of gone (i tryed restarting), but that advice did help me with another problem with something called sdbot[trj] so thanks there artras, i appriciate it  ;)

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2004, 09:30:34 PM »
Hmm its back again, i just scanned with something called jotti scanner and it got these results

AntiVir  No viruses found (1.23 seconds taken)
BitDefender  No viruses found (4.35 seconds taken)
ClamAV  No viruses found (6.03 seconds taken)
Dr.Web  Win32.HLLW.Agobot (6.03 seconds taken)
F-Prot Antivirus  No viruses found (2.26 seconds taken)
F-Secure Anti-Virus  Backdoor.Agobot.uo (3.47 seconds taken)
Kaspersky Anti-Virus  Backdoor.Agobot.uo (3.47 seconds taken)
McAfee VirusScan  W32/Sdbot.worm.gen.p (4.92 seconds taken)
Norman Virus Control  No viruses found (54.70 seconds taken)

Anyone care to help me please.


--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Stephan123

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • I am the virus reporter
Re:videons
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2004, 10:14:59 PM »
do a online scan by mcafee or Housecall ;D

housecall.trendmicro.com

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2004, 10:20:01 PM »
jotti has many virus scanners on it.

mcafee is in it (McAfee VirusScan  W32/Sdbot.worm.gen.p (4.92 seconds taken) )

And trend micro identifies it as possible virus.

But what i decied to do was send it off to Alwil software (did that yesterday) then disable system restore, restart, send to chest, deleat it, restart, reenable system restore, restart, i think it gone for good now.

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:videons
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2004, 08:35:20 AM »
If you want to make sure your system is clean, click on the link in m signature and follow the steps there.

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:videons
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2004, 12:03:52 PM »
What part of it? It suggests many things, and yes, it seems to be back yet again

EDIT: BTW i have just scanned with kaspersky and it identifies it as Backdoor.Agobot.uo , but when i look in there virus encyclopidia its nowhere to be found, can someone advise please.
I have stuck it in the virus chest bu it still seems to be working.

--lee
« Last Edit: July 23, 2004, 12:23:42 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:videons
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2004, 01:02:37 PM »
As clearly stated on that page, you have to do ALL parts.