Author Topic: Avast! Free AV 5.0.462 home edition license key for 20 years?  (Read 24502 times)

Offline lecxe33

• Personal Message (Offline)
alright..i'm a newbie here..and sorry if this a repost or in a wrong place.. 8)

So this is the case, i do some browsing in a forum..
and found a Thread about Avast! Free AV 5.0.462 home edition license key that valid for 20 years.. :o
so it's like a license key that we obtain by registering our copy of avast 5.0 home edition to the avast web..
but instead of just 1 year of validation (then we have to renew the license key for the next year..) this license key made it valid until 2038..
oh..and as i read the users post, they even able to online update the virus database.. >:(

they even post this screen shot (re-edited by me..)  >:(

i don't know how this man do this, but i'm pretty sure it's not legal.. :-X

and the worst thing about this, the fact that the Thread owner sell this 20-years-validation-license key for less than $1..
this idiots making money from this..

i don't know why people want to pay for something which they can get for free..
they use a copy of avast free home edition, that's a good thing..then why don't show some gratitude by registers the product, so that avast know how many people use their great anti virus software..  :'(
i mean, is that so difficult to register? and as far as i know, it is a lot easier and quicker to register version 5.0..

as for avast, please response to this case quickly..
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 10:13:14 AM by lecxe33 »

Offline igor

• avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast! Free AV 5.0.462 home edition license key for 20 years?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 10:11:35 AM »
Since you can register for free, I don't see why anybody would buy buy something like that, no matter how long expiration it has.
Anyway, I think it was a problem in the old versions, shouldn't occur in the latest build.

Offline lecxe33

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 10:19:25 AM »