Author Topic: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?  (Read 30770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #75 on: June 29, 2010, 04:55:44 PM »
Oh... There are two firewalls remains messing the system? ???
I suggest you uninstall Ashampoo. Boot.
Use Comodo firewall, much better and you can troubleshoot anything into Comodo forums if necessary.
Can you search both sites for a specialized tool to uninstall both firewalls and install Comodo from scratch?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #76 on: June 29, 2010, 04:58:31 PM »
Lukor

I didn't have HijackThis, but I've downloaded and installed it.
Did a system scan, coudn't/can't see any reference to this...

Can't see 'LSP network extensions' or 'Local Service Provider Net Ext' or anything like it, at least it doesn't jump out at me?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #77 on: June 29, 2010, 05:00:41 PM »
Oh... There are two firewalls remains messing the system? ???

No, Tech, just Ashampoo. It brings the troubles all alone..! ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #78 on: June 29, 2010, 05:01:49 PM »
Lukor

I didn't have HijackThis, but I've downloaded and installed it.
Did a system scan, coudn't/can't see any reference to this...

Can't see 'LSP network extensions' or 'Local Service Provider Net Ext' or anything like it, at least it doesn't jump out at me?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #79 on: June 29, 2010, 05:03:10 PM »
Lukor

I didn't have HijackThis, but I've downloaded and installed it.
Did a system scan, coudn't/can't see any reference to this...

Can't see 'LSP network extensions' or 'Local Service Provider Net Ext' or anything like it, at least it doesn't jump out at me?

We already read this one..! ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #80 on: June 29, 2010, 05:10:07 PM »
Asyn, I've talked about "remains" and not two firewalls at the same time...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #81 on: June 29, 2010, 05:11:18 PM »
Tech

No, as Asyn says there is only one Firewall 'Ashampoo'. I was recommended to uninstall Ashampoo and install Comodo. I intended to do just that, but owing to circumstance my decision was delayed, luckilly. Because I have since discovered - only a short while ago in fact - that people have been/are having the same problems with Comodo too.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #82 on: June 29, 2010, 05:14:22 PM »
Right now, uninstall every firewall and keep only Windows one...
It's the only way to test.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #83 on: June 29, 2010, 05:20:45 PM »
Because I have since discovered - only a short while ago in fact - that people have been/are having the same problems with Comodo too.

Where did you discover that..??
Usuallly there are no problems with comodo, if you just install the firewall part..!! (See my sig..!)
But, as already stated in an earlier reply, you can also use another free firewall, that runs smooth with avast (like PcTools, etc.)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #84 on: June 29, 2010, 05:37:49 PM »
Here Asyn...

Click on this link and look at the post that follows it from SmartGuy

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=56120.msg475063#msg475063

in which he says...

"Before using ashampoo, i had this problem.... that time i used Comodo's free edition firewall.... i thought maybe comodo blocked avast that why i changed it to ashampoo but the problem still exist"

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #85 on: June 29, 2010, 05:40:37 PM »
Here Asyn...

Huh... Sorry..! ;)
That's outdated info, as there have been many updates since then...
asyn
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 05:42:20 PM by Asyn »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #86 on: June 29, 2010, 05:55:14 PM »
So what are you saying, that the problem between Avast and Comodo has been resolved?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #87 on: June 29, 2010, 05:57:09 PM »
So what are you saying, that the problem between Avast and Comodo has been resolved?
Well... There isn't any "opened" problem here in forums.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #88 on: June 29, 2010, 05:59:11 PM »
So what are you saying, that the problem between Avast and Comodo has been resolved?

Well, I use both for a long time, now. So, yes..! ;)
Just be sure, that you only install the firewall part of comodo..!!
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Graphicool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #89 on: June 29, 2010, 06:04:06 PM »
Well everyone what would you like first, the good news or the bad news?

I'll tell you the bad new's first, because then I won't have to tell you the good news.

The bad news is...

I'm going to have to find and start teaching a new Firewall the way I operate my PC!