Author Topic: avast! service GUI component has stopped working  (Read 5527 times)

sandsj

avast! service GUI component has stopped working
« on: June 20, 2010, 11:27:00 PM »
I'm using windows vista on my laptop and I’ve been running avast for a few years now. Yesterday I decided to try windows essentials and this made a big mess to say the least. My machine locked up and would not boot up unless in safe mode. Come to find out, you must first remove avast before installation of windows essentials. I had not done this. So I removed avast and I still had problems with freeze-ups. I then decided to do a system restore to an earlier date to fix the problem. As soon as this was complete, everything went back to normal except my avast software. It started giving me the following message: "avast! service GUI component has stopped working" and Windows says it will search for a solution and notify me if found. So, I reinstalled the newest version of Avast 5 and its working fine except I'm still getting the pop-up message after a reboot or startup saying: avast! service GUI component has stopped working". Does anyone have a clue on how to remove this message? Thanks

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: avast! service GUI component has stopped working
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2010, 11:34:28 PM »
I suggest an installation from scratch:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.