Author Topic: Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?  (Read 2820 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AZKID

  • Be kind to everyone. We only pass this way once.
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?
« on: July 02, 2010, 08:17:35 AM »
Hi Everyone

I was running the Avast Free ver 4.8 on my laptop running WIN Vista Home Premium 32 bit. I just downloaded the latest Avast awsclear5 removal tool and set it to remove ver 4.x. I ran in in the safe mode but got the following error message: uninstall service error 0*00000430  Then I clicked the "OK" button and it told me my Avast 4.8 was successfully removed.

* there was a unique character here that I can't replicate

I then installed the Avast Free Ver 5.0.594 without any problems.  So far my Avast 5.0.594 appears to be running fine.

So why the error message on the uninstall? What does it mean? Could there be something not installed/uninstalled properly? ???

Thanks for any feedback.

Rich
Win7 Home Premium 64bit, (sp1) Intel I-5 CPU, 6GB RAM, FireFox 24, MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300,

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 08:25:40 AM »
Were you using the Uninstall Tool in Safe Mode or not?

Did you reboot the machine AFTER you installed the new version of Avast?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline AZKID

  • Be kind to everyone. We only pass this way once.
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 09:08:57 AM »
Were you using the Uninstall Tool in Safe Mode or not?

Did you reboot the machine AFTER you installed the new version of Avast?


Hi SafeSurf

Thanks for your prompt response.

Yes I ran the uninstall tool in the safe mode.

I believe I did reboot after the new Avast 5 install, but to be sure I just did a cold boot now. Everything appears to be running fine.
So nothing to be concerned about SafeSurf?  :-\


Thank You SS
Win7 Home Premium 64bit, (sp1) Intel I-5 CPU, 6GB RAM, FireFox 24, MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300,

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2010, 09:30:09 AM »
A reboot or a cold boot usually does the trick  ;).  I'm glad everything is working for you now.  Feel free to come back and visit.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline AZKID

  • Be kind to everyone. We only pass this way once.
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Error message on Avast Removal Tool ~ WHY?
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2010, 06:05:47 PM »
Thanks SS

I appreciate your help  :)

Best Regards,

Rich
Win7 Home Premium 64bit, (sp1) Intel I-5 CPU, 6GB RAM, FireFox 24, MBAM PRO 1.75.0.1300,