Author Topic: thunderbird  (Read 10092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
thunderbird
« on: July 22, 2004, 03:24:37 PM »
hello.id like to ask a question about setting up avast's internet mail with thunderbird.the help file says to copy this into avast4.ini
DefaultSmtpServer=smtp.server.com
DefaultPopServer=pop.server.com
DefaultImapServer=imap.server.com

do i do that if my server is .tiscali.co.uk?

do you know of a link with good instructions that i could follow/copy?
im being cautious because,in the past ive had trouble doing this.
i like avast,and hope ill get on better with it then NAV2004.Thank You

 ;D  its a pop account.

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 977
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2004, 03:46:46 PM »
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2004, 03:51:11 PM »
Clarion, wellcome  ;)

If you search the board for the word Thunderbird you will find a lot of help.
I do not use it  :'( but I can say that the Default servers in avast4.ini file are just the default. Other servers will be scanned by avast.

Can you take a look into 'Settings' in my signature? Section [mailscanner]...

Hope this help  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2004, 03:55:50 PM »
thanks,ill read the FAQs carefully.and i did a search,but i couldnt get to the beginning of it,just half way through ::)
if i still have problems i hope its ok to come back to this thread.thank you

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2004, 03:57:49 PM »
sorry technical,ill look through your settings link too :D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2004, 04:04:46 PM »
sorry technical,ill look through your settings link too :D

No need of sorry... This is a help forum  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2004, 04:39:27 PM »
too complicated ???.i get the same old message"could not connect to server 127.0.0.1"i think ill change thunderbird.can you suguest what i should change to.somethig that avast can detect.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2004, 04:47:22 PM »
im going to go to thunderbird forum.i think i might be able to move thunderbird files so avast can detect. ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2004, 05:54:15 PM »
Pegasus Mail is a very good one.
In last case, Outlook Express  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2004, 06:07:06 PM »
Pegasus Mail is a very good one.
In last case, Outlook Express  ;)
i just want to be 100% sure Pegasus should be picked up by avast?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2004, 07:16:23 PM »
I just want to be 100% sure Pegasus should be picked up by avast?

Of course, the newest version is 4.21a
Default configurations like Outlook Express:

Pop:
Server host name: 127.0.0.1
username: username#popservername
TCP/IP port: 110

Smtp:
Server host name: 127.0.0.1
TCP/IP port: 25
Login to smtp server: #smtpservername
The best things in life are free.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2004, 07:16:40 PM »
no.it didnt work.thanks anyway Technical. :) .ill just use hotmail for now.ill check back to see if there is anything else i can do.and ill keep reading the help files,and searching the forum  :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2004, 07:23:50 PM »
no.it didnt work.thanks anyway Technical. :) .ill just use hotmail for now.ill check back to see if there is anything else i can do.and ill keep reading the help files,and searching the forum  :)

The problem is Hotmail and not Pegasus...
Hotmail is not a pop3/smtp server.
Maybe the new version of avast will be able to scan Hotmail. By now, you can't  :'(
There are some programs that 'caught' the Hotmail through the pop3 port and then avast could scan it... but, unfortunatelly, I cannot help too much  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2004, 07:30:24 PM »
hello.i didnt try and configure hotmail.hotmail now scans for virii(?spelling).what i did was try and manually configure the mail protection wizard for peg. and my account was not in the list.there was no list,it was blank.should i have let it do it automatically?ill post again and try and attach a screenshot.thanks for helping :)

Offline clarion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re:thunderbird
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2004, 07:38:25 PM »
ok.sorry i think my brain is having abit of trouble(keeps hanging).im going to do something else for half-an-hour,then come back and reread your advice. ;D
also when i try and attach a screenie it says something like no data