Author Topic: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)  (Read 15085 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wolfman86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #30 on: July 09, 2010, 11:31:18 PM »
Setting DDR3 timings to auto sets it to everything in the far right column.

This is the official memory support list for my motherboard, and yeah I don't see any of the OCZ Black Edition kits listed: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_ga-870a-ud3.pdf

Offline Silviu C.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • White'n nerdy
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #31 on: July 10, 2010, 12:57:58 AM »
How much of an impact do those settings have on the performance of the system (benchmarks, Windows Experience Index...) ?

 Maybe it's worth the tradeoff if those setting help you run stable or you could look with CPU-Z at all the timings the SPD reports as being supported, then manually adjust to the most "relaxed" ones if 11-11-11-30 is causing too much of a performance drop
Someone is speaking well of you.

How unusual!

Offline Wolfman86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #32 on: July 10, 2010, 05:39:47 AM »
I decided to test both sticks individually again and one of them gave me errors this time. I tested the other stick in the same slot and it passed 4 times with no errors. I'm starting to think maybe I have bad memory slots...? I don't know, but I'm going to test each stick individually, again, over night and see what happens.


Offline Silviu C.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • White'n nerdy
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #33 on: July 11, 2010, 07:43:45 PM »
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Someone is speaking well of you.

How unusual!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #34 on: July 11, 2010, 08:54:16 PM »
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Software does not create hardware issues that simple.
Seems just the memory is faulty and you need to change it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Wolfman86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #35 on: July 11, 2010, 10:24:09 PM »
Any updates regarding this issue ? What was causing the BSODs, faulty RAM, faulty RAM slot ?
Software does not create hardware issues that simple.
Seems just the memory is faulty and you need to change it.
For the past 48 hours I have tested both sticks, individually with Memtest86+, in memory slot 1 (closest to the cpu) and both have been successful with no errors. So, I either have a BIOS setting that is off or faulty memory slots. I will call Gigabyte tomorrow and find out from them if I really need to RMA or if it's just a simple BIOS setting that needs to be set/changed.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Windows 7 with latest Avast! (5.0.594)
« Reply #36 on: July 11, 2010, 11:19:57 PM »
Cache (memory cache) or overclocking could produce that errors.
Sorry, can't help further, it's beyond my knowledge.
The best things in life are free.