Author Topic: [Resolved] Update to Avast 5.0.0  (Read 27877 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36993
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2010, 08:23:13 AM »
are you sure your pc is malware free ? maybe something is blocking the install.....

Check your computer for Malware with

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.46 http://filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/
after install click update so you have latest database before scan
click the remove selected button to quarantine anything found
you may post the scan log her

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2010, 09:41:12 AM »
No the only antivirus in my PC is Avast.
From time to time I use Spybot and Adware, I run this program only on demand, no resident program is running.

Drop Spybot.
Try again.
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pio47

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2010, 09:50:06 AM »
Following the procedure suggested by Tech, I installed Avast 4.8 again (finally I found back the setup file …): it is impossible to have it OK like I had it 4 days ago !!!.

I got this warning:
“Le sous-système AAVM a détecté une erreur RPC”
From information in this page
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=101&ratingconfirm=1
 I tried to start or switch to automatic the 2 Avast services in manual mode (avast!Mail Scanner and avast! Web Scanner): impossible !!

Please call an ambulance, I am getting crazy.

Thank you to Asyn and Pondus for suggestions, I am trying to apply them.

Asyn, please, what do you mean by "Drop Spybot" ?

Pierre

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2010, 09:56:07 AM »
Asyn, please, what do you mean by "Drop Spybot" ?
Pierre

I mean to uninstall it completely, if you use avast 5.x. ;)
You can replace it with free Mbam. http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #19 on: July 12, 2010, 10:34:16 AM »
Pierre,

What Asyn is trying to tell you is that there have been other people on the forum here telling us that they have had problems with Spybot (and some with Adware).  

1. First start by uninstalling Spybot.

2. Second, run the Malwarebytes' Antimalware (MBAM) that Pondus gave you the link and directions for you to make sure you do not have malware.  

3. You need to go back to my first directions and uninstall Avast without Spybot and do a CLEAN install, but make sure you uninstall BOTH versions 4.0 and 5.0 since they are both are your machine.  

4. Make sure you reboot your machine after this as I mentioned in my directions.

5. Once you get Avast 5.0.594 (I gave you the link in my directions), then update the definitions.  Reboot your machine.

6. Then get back on the Internet and Register or put your Key in.  Make sure your Key is for the Free version and not a Trial (30-day version).  

Let us know how this process goes in this order.

« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 12:11:25 PM by SafeSurf »
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Pio47

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2010, 07:42:49 PM »
I disconnected from the Internet.
I performed a scan with Spybot, AdAware, IO Bit Security/ASC, I erased all malwares detected, and I completely uninstalled all these applications.
I performed a quick scan with Windows Defender → OK.
I performed a (second) scan with MBAM: 2 malwares the first time, no malware found this second time.
I uninstalled Avast 4 and Avast 5 with aswclear5.exe (I runned it twice).
I rebooted my machine twice.
I cleaned C: (system disk) and G: (some more program files, to free space on C:).
I installed Avast 5 with setup file  setup_av_free.exe / 5.0.594.0 (link given by SafeSurf).
I rebooted twice → Avast seems NOK ! (icon in the system tray with a red mark)
I connected to the Internet and stopped Windows Defender.
Everything is as before: Avast is NOK, nothing is possible !!!  The registration key I got for the fourth time is not valid !!!  Nothing happens when I try to update, impossible to save parameters, ...

It seems that my Internet connection is not detected by Avast. What must I be able to read in firewall parameters concerning Avast ?

(I am not allowed to view the article  http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=459 , even after having created my Avast account)

Now I am completely crazy ...

I help about a dozen of friends to install and maintain their PCs, I always say them "Update an application only if you want actually solve a problem or if you absolutely want to use the new features of the new release" !
WHY HAVE I TRIED TO UPDATE AVAST, WHAT A MISTAKE ?!? :'( :'( :'(

Pierre

Offline bcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • No sweat!
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2010, 08:06:32 PM »
May I interject with a silly question right here.  Is it normal that I should start getting alerts about "updating Avast"  (I'm using free version 4.8.1368) whose updates feature expires for me October 1st?  And I'm only curious about one more thing in this follow up question.  Could I stick with the Free version of 4.x for a while longer after renewing my subscription in October?  In any event, will I continue to get these flash alerts about updating my Avast software until I finally move to the version 5?  ???  
Thanks.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #22 on: July 12, 2010, 08:10:29 PM »
I performed a (second) scan with MBAM: 2 malwares the first time, no malware found this second time.
Did you put the malware into MBAM quarantine?
I rebooted twice → Avast seems NOK ! (icon in the system tray with a red mark)
I connected to the Internet and stopped Windows Defender.
Restart Win Defender (WD) so you have some AV protection!  As long as Avast is not working and we are trying to fix the problem, make sure WD is ON and the definitions are updated.  Also, do MBAM scans on-demand periodically in the meantime.
It seems that my Internet connection is not detected by Avast. What must I be able to read in firewall parameters concerning Avast ?
What is your firewall (FW)?  And is your FW blocking anything from Avast to connect to the Internet?  How do you connect to the Internet (cable, DSL, proxy, etc.)?

Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #23 on: July 12, 2010, 08:15:47 PM »
bcool,

There is a thread about your issue already posted.  To answer your question, Avast is notifying 4.0 users now because it will stop supporting v.4.0 at the end of the year.  You will however be able to renew your license 14 days prior to the expiration date and I would suggest upgrading or doing a clean install to v. 5.0.594.  You will continue to get the pop-up reminders until you upgrade or install v.5.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline bcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • No sweat!
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #24 on: July 12, 2010, 08:21:18 PM »
Thank you so much.   :)

  I'm sorry for not doing due diligence and finding the previous thread.   

Offline Pio47

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2010, 07:48:07 AM »
Bonjour,

Yes I put malware in quarantine; see image http://noellathomas.free.fr/Malware.JPG
____________
My firewall is the one of Windows XP.
Nothing appears about Avast in the "Exceptions" tab. Is Avast concerned by one the lines ?

I use an ADSL modem. My machine is permanently connected to the Internet through an Ethernet cable connected to the modem.

Pierre

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2010, 09:11:24 AM »
Uncheck 'Permanently connected to the Net'.
Choose direct connection (no proxy).
Can you update avast now..?
Also check your hosts file..!
As some malware was found on your machine, there still could be a threat left that blocks a proper installation/update. Are you able to run a boot time scan with avast..?
You can also try to update the VPS here: http://www.avast.com/download-update
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pio47

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2010, 10:39:59 AM »
Bonjour Asyn,

The problem is I can't save Avast parameters: if I save, nothing is saved !  When I come back to the parameter window parameters are the previous values.
In the Update tab, none of the connection parameters is marked, and it is impossible to mark "Permanently connected to the Internet" and save it. For Proxy, Automatic detection is marked, it is impossible to mark and save "No proxy".
What do you mean by "check your hosts file" ?
It is impossible to run a boot time scan: when I “planify” a scan it is not executed. In the scan tab of the main window of Avast the scan is still kept planified for next start-up !!

Pierre

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36993
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #28 on: July 13, 2010, 11:05:18 AM »
suggestion.......run OTL from Essexboy`s guide and post the log`s.
He can then take a look inside and see if everything is OK
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0


lower left corner: +Additional Options > Attach ( OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt )

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Update to Avast 5.0.0
« Reply #29 on: July 13, 2010, 11:06:20 AM »
Pierre,

I think malware may be the cause of your problems.  Please check out the Virus and Worms forum here in Avast http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0.  Essexboy is one of our malware removal experts and if after running the logs, he can help you.  I know you already did the MBAM scan, so you already did half of what he suggested, but he offers more information.  Take a look and any malware related information you have and this should be posted in that section.  Otherwise we can continue here.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 11:29:42 AM by SafeSurf »
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.