Author Topic: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!  (Read 9253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ccookie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Proud Avast! user
    • ChickadeeWeather
Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« on: July 13, 2010, 08:40:36 PM »
Hi, I was wondering if Malwarebyte Antimalware (for spyware) and Avast! would work together? I heard that Avast! isn't good with spyware, and you need another program for spyware. Would Malwarebyte Antimalware work for this? If not, can you suggest anything else for spyware, or do I even need a program for spyware? ??? Thanks!
OS / Browser: Windows XP Professional SP3 / Google Chrome 9.0
Security: Avast free antivirus 5.1.899; Windows XP firewall;

Offline PTRPRO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 08:42:57 PM »
Good combo. They work fine together.
Packard Motorcars said "Ask the man who owns one". They're not in business anymore.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8798
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 08:43:20 PM »
Malwarebyte Antimalware works great with avast!

I even purchased the Full version with a lifetime licence.  8)
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 27202
  • 55 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 08:49:55 PM »
A simple forum search for mbam and avast brings up many hits including the following:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=49772.msg421021;topicseen#msg421021 :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, avast!2015.10.2.2218 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline ccookie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Proud Avast! user
    • ChickadeeWeather
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 08:56:07 PM »
I have a question about Malwarebyte. Will it remove spyware also? Is it good? ???
OS / Browser: Windows XP Professional SP3 / Google Chrome 9.0
Security: Avast free antivirus 5.1.899; Windows XP firewall;

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2351
  • Memento Mori
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2010, 09:12:40 PM »
You wont find many bad things to be said about it here.
 
It is the go-to second opinion for the majority of the forum users.

Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2772
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2010, 11:07:03 PM »
avast! & Malwarebytes work great and is very very great. ;D

Offline ccookie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Proud Avast! user
    • ChickadeeWeather
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2010, 11:14:29 PM »
OK, I'm thinking of downloading Malwarebyte on my system with Avast! Thanks!
OS / Browser: Windows XP Professional SP3 / Google Chrome 9.0
Security: Avast free antivirus 5.1.899; Windows XP firewall;

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2772
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2010, 11:15:22 PM »
Sorry but im curious cookie. Which malwarebytes and avast! you got ? (Free,Paid ?)

Offline ccookie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Proud Avast! user
    • ChickadeeWeather
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2010, 04:08:24 AM »
free
OS / Browser: Windows XP Professional SP3 / Google Chrome 9.0
Security: Avast free antivirus 5.1.899; Windows XP firewall;

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2893
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2010, 06:16:30 AM »
I would only get the free version of Malwarebytes which lets you do on demand scans. A lot of people say you can run the paid version in real time along with Avast! but I personally wouldn't do it. Avast! isn't all that bad against spyware though. It does pretty good. Malwarebytes isn't only for spyware either. It detects and removes a wide variety of malware. I think it's an amazing program myself.
Avatar FX6327X Desktop, AMD FX-6300 6 core CPU, Radeon R9-270X graphics, 8GB RAM, Windows 8.1 64 bit, Bitdefender Free antivirus, MBAM on demand
HP6140 Laptop, AMD A8-3500M Quad Core APU, 6GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1, Bitdefender Free, MBAM
 Google/Asus Nexus 7 tablet, Qualcomm Snapdragon quad core 1.5ghz, 32GB storage, Android 5.0.2, Dolphin browser, Bitdefender Free      All machines behind a NAT router

Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2010, 05:39:06 PM »
I have Used Malwarebytes with Avast for about 5years or so...Awesome!! They go real good together..If at any time you are uncertain of if your computer has any adware or trojans or just unsure....Trust Malwarebytes on the full scan...If malwarebytes doesn't find anything...You are 100% safe....I trust it over any anytspyware or scanners....Also if you are using the free version of Malwarebytes just as a scanner..Widows Defende or SpybotS&D or Spywareblaster go good with Avast....for spyware adware etc. defense...Some people Use all of them with Avast with no problems...Another great free scanner  is SuperAntiSpyware...you can use it also just as a scanner or second opinion...it's only like 7mb or so ...and always at my desktop available as a scanner....The Only thing to watch out for with Malwarebytes is if you use Spywareblaster or Spybot S&D or SuperAntiSpyware  and if you set them  to "lock" your default Home Page so changes cannot be made.....Malwarebytes will classify that as a Browser HIJACKING...or security centre Hijacking....So don't set Spybot or SpywareBlaster or SuperAntiSpyware to Lock your control Panel or Homepage.....or if you do unlock them when doing a scan with Malwarebytes.....
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2893
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2010, 09:44:34 PM »
I saw an interview with Malwarebytes' creator and he said that you should never have to do more than the quick scan. He said that was all he did himself. They keep the program updated with all the places that malware inserts itself and if they find out about something infecting a new location, they add that to the quick scan. He claimed that he had tested it and never found any more with the full scan over the quick one.
Avatar FX6327X Desktop, AMD FX-6300 6 core CPU, Radeon R9-270X graphics, 8GB RAM, Windows 8.1 64 bit, Bitdefender Free antivirus, MBAM on demand
HP6140 Laptop, AMD A8-3500M Quad Core APU, 6GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 SP1, Bitdefender Free, MBAM
 Google/Asus Nexus 7 tablet, Qualcomm Snapdragon quad core 1.5ghz, 32GB storage, Android 5.0.2, Dolphin browser, Bitdefender Free      All machines behind a NAT router

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8798
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2010, 09:54:49 PM »
I saw an interview with Malwarebytes' creator and he said that you should never have to do more than the quick scan. He said that was all he did himself. They keep the program updated with all the places that malware inserts itself and if they find out about something infecting a new location, they add that to the quick scan. He claimed that he had tested it and never found any more with the full scan over the quick one.
I use Malwarebytes resident and have it update in Realtime so that it uses the Flash scan immediatly.

The Quick scan is all that is needed and I have it run daily in the morning and with avast! and Malwarebytes my sytem has remained malware free.  8)
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 65826
Re: Malwarebyte Antimalware and Avast!
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2010, 11:17:08 PM »
I saw an interview with Malwarebytes' creator and he said that you should never have to do more than the quick scan. He said that was all he did himself. They keep the program updated with all the places that malware inserts itself and if they find out about something infecting a new location, they add that to the quick scan. He claimed that he had tested it and never found any more with the full scan over the quick one.
Thanks for posting.
Sometimes I've found setup files (not installed) in other folders.
The best things in life are free.