Author Topic: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!  (Read 34091 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2010, 09:10:44 PM »
nope

FYI: thebay's problem is solved now...! (german subforum)
Was a conflict with Ashampoo. ;)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

SafeSurf

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2010, 01:03:57 AM »
Thanks Asyn.  I've noticed a few others on the forum with Ashampoo FW having conflict problems as well.  Thanks for passing the word along.  ;)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2010, 11:03:49 AM »
Thanks Asyn.  I've noticed a few others on the forum with Ashampoo FW having conflict problems as well.  Thanks for passing the word along.  ;)

No problem..!
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Ganpixie

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2010, 01:19:41 PM »
nope

FYI: thebay's problem is solved now...! (german subforum)
Was a conflict with Ashampoo. ;)
asyn


Since installing v5.9.594 I have been having this "cannot connect to server" issue.
[I used the "aswClear5.exe" to remove version 4 before installing v5]

Found this forum and have today just discovered the reference to Ashampoo that I also use ???

What exactly is the FIX for this - do I have to remove Ashampoo or is there a work-round.

I note that in the Ashampoo listings I have THREE entries for "avast.exe" and one for "AvastUI.exe".
All of the above are indicated as having full access rights ???

Your help on this would be greatly appreciated.

I was beginning to think it had been a BIG mistake to accept the update to v5 after having used Avast AV for about three years now with NO previous problems.........

K.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 01:33:27 PM by Ganpixie »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2010, 01:43:26 PM »
What exactly is the FIX for this - do I have to remove Ashampoo or is there a work-round.

Yes, uninstall it and use another free FW..! (eg. Comodo, PCTools, etc...)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Ganpixie

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2010, 02:08:26 PM »
What exactly is the FIX for this - do I have to remove Ashampoo or is there a work-round.

Yes, uninstall it and use another free FW..! (eg. Comodo, PCTools, etc...)
asyn


Thanks for your very quick reply..............

I shall remove Ashampoo and go back to Comodo that I used to use some time ago (can't really remember why I changed to Ashampoo :o)

K.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2010, 02:13:18 PM »
Thanks for your very quick reply..............

You're welcome..!
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Ganpixie

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2010, 02:31:33 PM »
Thanks for your very quick reply..............

You're welcome..!
asyn


Yeah!!!

Ashampoo - OUT

Comodo - IN

Updates running freely ;D ;D ;D

Thanks again.

K.

thebay

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2010, 06:52:56 PM »
asyn was much faster than me.
he said all you need.
also in forum - thanks asyn, was a long way to find out that ashampoo is the problem

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2010, 09:00:50 AM »
Good, it's solved for both of you now..! :)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

mountain60

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2010, 06:21:19 PM »
BODA's steps solved my problem!  Thanks, BODA!   :)

1. Settings
2. Updates
3. Proxy setting
4. Direct connect no proxy

kglibow

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #26 on: August 10, 2010, 10:44:18 AM »
I have the same update problem: "Error: Cant connect to server"
Windows xp, Avast 5 0 594
I have tried all of the above susgestions but the problem persist unfortunatelly.
I disabled avast proxy and checked to have no windows proxy.
Shut down Ashampoo and windows firewall.
Anything else i can do?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76160
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #27 on: August 10, 2010, 01:07:57 PM »
Shut down Ashampoo and windows firewall.
Anything else i can do?

Uninstall Ashampoo, shutting it down is not enough...
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.6.7355.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 102.1 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

icardoth

  • Guest
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #28 on: August 12, 2010, 01:54:21 PM »
What exactly is the FIX for this - do I have to remove Ashampoo or is there a work-round.

Yes, uninstall it and use another free FW..! (eg. Comodo, PCTools, etc...)
asyn


I'm having the very same issue since I upgraded to Avast 5 from my good old 4.8 version. Tried everything suggested (i.e. unistall, run cleaup utility, reinstall, repair from Control Panel, set "no proxy" option) and still no updates (neither manual nor automatic).

I also use Ashampoo Firewall with good results. I've tried many, many firewalls with poor results, (Comodo, Zonealarm, McAfee Personal FW, Agnitum Outpost FW, etc.), so I *don't want* to remove it.

Will Avast 5 solve this issue in a future version (if Avast 4.8 can update, then it's not an Ashampoo issue) or should I get rid of Avast 5?

Thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Help! Avast cannot connect to the server to update!
« Reply #29 on: August 12, 2010, 01:59:36 PM »
Will Avast 5 solve this issue in a future version (if Avast 4.8 can update, then it's not an Ashampoo issue) or should I get rid of Avast 5?
Well, it seems an Ashampoo problem and not avast's one...
Did you test removing avast entries of Ashampoo program list, boot, allow avast access again?
The best things in life are free.