Author Topic: v235 update - on access scanner changes  (Read 4803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KMT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
v235 update - on access scanner changes
« on: July 05, 2003, 12:28:24 AM »
With all builds before the latest 235, the on-access scanner scanned all files on open when entering the "*" as extension in the appropriate box. Thus it detected a renamed eicar (e.g. eicar.txt) file as being "infected". However this behaviour stopped with the latest version although the file itself is scanned.

What did change in the recent v235 update?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11667
    • AVAST Software
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2003, 12:33:25 AM »
What OS do you use?
How did the behaviour change - the virus is not announced? How do you know that "the file itself is scanned"?

Offline KMT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2003, 09:55:32 AM »
The file is scanned because the on-access scanner window lists it as scanned. Anyway, even a reboot didn't make Avast see the eicar string in a "eicar.txt". But a "pause provider", then "resume provider" did. Now avast sees the eicar string again; I was just curious if you changed something in the extension settings...

Supose it was just a glitch on my system.

KMT

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11667
    • AVAST Software
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2003, 12:20:21 PM »
Strange... so now, even after a reboot, is works correctly from the start (i.e. without having to pause/resume the provider?

What operating system are you using, please?

Offline KMT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2003, 01:28:34 PM »
Yes, now it keeps this settings...will try to reproduce this on another system and see if it was a one time glitch.
I am using Win98

Offline Waldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Avast does the ownage
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2003, 01:33:28 PM »
I have no problems putting the * into the exctension list. (after update) it scans ALL files without problems.

Isn't it nescecary to put ALL extensions in the list like .txt. .exe. com etc... or does the * replaces ALL extensions just by putting the * in ? Really ?


**Guns are for show, knifes for a pro**

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11667
    • AVAST Software
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2003, 01:46:11 PM »
* really means "all extensions". There's no need to enter them one by one (well, it might be a problem anyway - typing in all extensions  ;D).

Offline Waldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Avast does the ownage
Re:v235 update - on access scanner changes
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2003, 01:57:22 PM »
Thanks IGOR > you rule !  :)
**Guns are for show, knifes for a pro**