Author Topic: New version of ZoneAlarm  (Read 7923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RedSector

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • You found me.
    • Sourcehack
New version of ZoneAlarm
« on: July 30, 2004, 07:31:06 AM »
Well a new version of ZA is out.  I didn't have any probelms with the prevoius version, but anyone who did and has time to try it our, I would appreciate it they could tell me if they fixed some of those compatibilty issues.  Unforunately ZA still doesnt detect avast! but as Technical (i think) has said you dont need ZA to tell you that avast! is working.
You ought to try Google Talk

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2004, 02:31:48 PM »
Well a new version of ZA is out.  I didn't have any probelms with the prevoius version, but anyone who did and has time to try it our, I would appreciate it they could tell me if they fixed some of those compatibilty issues.  Unforunately ZA still doesnt detect avast! but as Technical (i think) has said you dont need ZA to tell you that avast! is working.

I don't know if I'll try the new version...
ZA 5 start to bring me some trouble (CPU up to 100% cause of vsmon module crash). I'm testing Outpost now.

In another computer I'll try the new version and post the stability here.  :)
The best things in life are free.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46110
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2004, 03:47:08 PM »
Well a new version of ZA is out.  I didn't have any probelms with the prevoius version, but anyone who did and has time to try it our, I would appreciate it they could tell me if they fixed some of those compatibilty issues.  Unforunately ZA still doesnt detect avast! but as Technical (i think) has said you dont need ZA to tell you that avast! is working.

I don't know if I'll try the new version...
ZA 5 start to bring me some trouble (CPU up to 100% cause of vsmon module crash). I'm testing Outpost now.

In another computer I'll try the new version and post the stability here.  :)
Quote
I'm using the latest version of ZA and it's purring like a kitten but still doesn't recognize Avast!. Since I don't have a problem with resouces i'm not running into Technical's problems.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2004, 03:00:18 AM »
Well, why to change something that works perfect ? No problems at all... silent and powerful, soooo powerful - Outpost.

Cheers !

Gene Johnson

  • Guest
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2004, 07:07:03 AM »
I have the new version installed. No problems so far. It has the sound effects every time an intrusion is blocked. I assume that will stop shortly, as it did when I first loaded it.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46110
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2004, 02:09:25 PM »
Hi Gene J ,
Quote
It has the sound effects every time an intrusion is blocked.
What sound effects??? I've never heard any and I've had sites blocked.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2004, 05:43:00 PM »
It has the sound effects every time an intrusion is blocked. I assume that will stop shortly, as it did when I first loaded it.

Wow.. isn't that enervating ??  ;) ;)

I hope ZA only beeps if a REAL intrusion attempt is coming ?

or with every harmless portscan or Network-worm ??

 ???

Gene Johnson

  • Guest
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2004, 06:44:02 PM »
Every time something triggers ZoneAlarm it sounds like a video game. The sound is like on a kids gun game, where everytime he pulls the trigger you get a double ping noise. When I originally download Zone Alarm 5 months ago it did it then also. It stopped on it's own in a couple of days. I haven't found a setting to disable it. I would sure like to!

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2004, 08:22:59 PM »
I installed it and it works now without problems(last version didn't). AV detection is still horrible(does it work at all?),but other stuff is ok. I also hate the fact that ZA doesn't work well with P2P programs (ZA process starts to get bigger and bigger even up to 100MB of memory usage),but downloads are working normally. Restarting ZA fixes this high memory load. In terms of security,ZA is almost at the top (yes its very very good). I have ZA Free and its a plain simple and efficient firewall :)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline RedSector

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • You found me.
    • Sourcehack
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2004, 07:48:50 AM »
Glad to hear they worked out some of the bugs.  I agree it is a bit of a resource hog, but meh I am not on a resource budget.  Only problem I had is that my old settings with this new version completely blocked the download of exes over port 80.  I easily fixed this by getting my firends backed up settings.   I also tried Outpost, but it severely fudged up my computer.  It had massive boot failure.  I could probably have fixed it, but I have been a ZA user forever, and thats what I am most comfortable with.  I do like Outposts easy viewing of outgoing connections though.
You ought to try Google Talk

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3348
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2004, 08:12:20 AM »
Also very important when installing any firewall software, always run ShieldsUP to test your firewall all port to make sure they are all Stealth.

https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

No matter what firewall software you have it not always 100% perfect, so please check your firewall to see if they pass the test to full stealth.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.8.2487 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46110
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2004, 12:37:25 PM »
Thanks SpeedyPC
And I was delighted with the results. ZA is really behaving like a charm. Just wish they'd get theire act together with detecting Avast!.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Gene Johnson

  • Guest
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2004, 08:25:23 PM »
I thought I made a mistake once, but I was wrong.
The sounds I thought were from ZoneAlarm appear to be from Yahoo! instead. I updated both and noticed the sound effects shortly after. Sorry for misleading you folks. Now if I can only figure out how to shut it off! ::)

Offline RedSector

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • You found me.
    • Sourcehack
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2004, 05:08:57 AM »
ZoneAlarm 5.1 with my settings passed the all of the Shields Up tests :D
You ought to try Google Talk

Offline phil2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 223
Re:New version of ZoneAlarm
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2004, 08:34:20 AM »
SpeedyPC....thanks for link to ShieldsUP.
ZA passed all tests :)
Cheers!   Phil
Windows 7 home service pack 1 64-bit
avast! Pro Antivirus     Malwarebytes Pro resident
    Winpatrol Pro