Author Topic: error on manual update for XP limited account  (Read 6105 times)

cro.adnu

error on manual update for XP limited account
« on: August 13, 2010, 06:09:14 AM »
Haroo!

Greetings!

I'm a system administrator in our office and have difficulty in updating avast! 5.0.594 in our staff computers.

Since their computers can't be connected to the internet, my way of updating their avast is through manual update. But when I try to run the downloaded update, the following error occurs:

Can't install VPS update. Please, report the following errorcodes:
Ver: 5.0.594
SI: 0x00000005
ST: 0x00000005
LE: 0x00000000

I think this has something to do with them being a limited user account. Because when I tried to run the update in an admin account, it went well.

I tried searching the forum but the results seemed to not help (one says that I need to get the latest program version but I think I have it). (or I didn't search well)

Each computer has the following specs:
Windows XP professional SP3
Intel Core i3 CPU 2GB RAM

Installed avast:
avast! pro antivirus
subscription status: active

Please help.

Junjie

additional info:

I tried uninstalling avast, then restart PC, then install avast.. without luck.
By the way, the OS is newly installed.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2010, 06:37:58 AM by Junjie »

Offline Asyn

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: error on manual update for XP limited account
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 10:39:16 AM »
I think this has something to do with them being a limited user account. Because when I tried to run the update in an admin account, it went well.

So run the update with admin rights then, as you are the admin... ;)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01