Author Topic: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site  (Read 9163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« on: August 22, 2010, 09:18:18 PM »
Hi,

For the record I am using a Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8.

All my security programs, firewall and Windows Explorer are updated and fully patched.

Starting yesterday every time I try to check my local weather by using 'Weather Bug' I get a message from Avast saying 'Trojan Horse detected and blocked'.  I have been using Weather Bug for years and never had this happen before.

Any chance this could be a false positive?

Here is a photo of the actual warning:



Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 09:21:40 PM »
Most probably not. Sites get hacked.
But I suppose they could correct it easily if it is a false positive.
The best things in life are free.

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 09:25:25 PM »
Hi tech,

Thanks for the fast response.  I will notify them (Weather Bug) what is happening.

Have a good day!

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 09:31:01 PM »
Yes 'Weather Bug' is bugged ;)

Why not use a non-bugged weather supplier. ???

http://www.theweathernetwork.com

Current weather:

28C and rain and for the Centigrade challenged people that's about 80F but the humidity makes it feels much more. ;)

US cities support:
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/usacities_en
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 09:34:44 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 09:36:48 PM »
Hi YoKenny,

Nice site.  It just replaced 'Weather Bug'.

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2010, 09:39:50 PM »
Glad to help.  8)
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2010, 09:50:20 PM »
Methinks you are female and do not want to admit it ???
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2010, 10:47:23 PM »
Methinks you are female and do not want to admit it ???

You lost me with that response???   ???
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2010, 10:53:02 PM »
Methinks you are female and do not want to admit it ???

You lost me with that response???   ???
Sometimes things are complex for blonds. ;)

Using Spybot S&D and Windows Defender on XP Home is superfluous.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 10:56:45 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2010, 03:02:36 AM »
I use Desktop Weather by The Weather Channel

http://www.weather.com/services/desktop.html
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 03:14:54 AM »
rdmaloyjr,

I appreciate your recommended site too.  Have a great week!

Thanks and regards,

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline darth

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 09:51:01 PM »


For weather, you might check out www.intellicast.com also.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 10:09:08 PM »


For weather, you might check out www.intellicast.com also.
Its fine if you are in USA. ;)

You do not indicate your country so please go to PROFILE then Modify Profile then Forum Profile Information then Please select your country: then Signature: and put information about your system just like my signature about your system just like my signature so that the helpers can offer pertinent advice.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline 2harts4ever

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • " .... the Few ... the Proud ..."
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2010, 11:44:13 PM »


For weather, you might check out www.intellicast.com also.

darth,

It looks like 'Intellicast' has a more updated weather status and radar map for my location than the others I have been viewing.  ;)

I appreciate the tip!   :)

Thanks and regards, 

2harts4ever
Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home, SP3., with IE8, Avast antivirus, Comodo Firewall, Spyware Blaster, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Windows Defender,Trojan Hunter,SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, PSI.exe

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast says it blocked 'Trojan Horse' from Weather Bug site
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2010, 11:44:46 AM »
Another great site for checking weather around the world is WeatherUnderground http://www.wunderground.com/.  It also gives lunar and fishing information as well as other tips.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.