Author Topic: Avast 5.0.462 slowing everything to crawl...how to get 4.0 version back?  (Read 7685 times)

eastwick66

Avast Free "update" pop up made me agree to download the newest version about 4 days ago and my PC CRAWLS so slowly now I want to get rid of it! I have to turn off all shileds to surf or do anything it takes so long.
I have WXP (service pack 2) and never had problems like this with the older version, whatever it was.
How do I uninstall this "new" nightmare and get the 4.0 version back?
Please don't give all kinds of high tech advice because I'm not technical. I just agreed to the upgrade and regret it.
If i can't get the older version back, I'll uninstall this buggy 5.0 and get a different Anti-virus program.
Thanks for any help in how to get 4.0 back.

eastwick66

Will I need to use my old license key to reinstall 4.0 version?
Can I go to my control panel to add/remove programs and uninstall 5.0 that way too or should I use your link for the best uninstall?
Thanks so much! I loved the older version and the new one is causing a nightmare!

Offline pk

• Avast team
  • Super Poster
Will I need to use my old license key to reinstall 4.0 version?
Yes, use your old license key for 4.8 version.

Can I go to my control panel to add/remove programs and uninstall 5.0 that way too or should I use your link for the best uninstall?
You can use Add/Remove option in Control Panel as well, reboot and install old version.

Offline Shiw Liang

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
If you wanna try to fix the problem for avast 5 then follow the steps here:
1.Download the avast 5 installer
2.Download aswclear5.exe here:
http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

3.Go to safe mode
4.Run the aswclear5.exe
5.Choose avast 4.8 home/pro uninstall
6.It asks you to reboot choose no
7.Continue with the aswclear5
8.Choose avast 5 free/pro/is and uninstall again

Then reboot your computer!