Author Topic: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [NOW 5.0.673] ***  (Read 119691 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3729
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2010, 12:45:19 AM »
okay I'll download it in a minute ;)

You are late ;D

Greetz, Red.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 12:47:00 AM by Rednose »
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2010, 12:50:43 AM »
okay I'll download it in a minute ;)

You are late ;D

Greetz, Red.

LOL  ;D already downloaded, installed and rebooted, AIS running fine so far on W7/64 ;)
w7 - ais7

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85070
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2010, 01:18:50 AM »
@ Vlk
Are there any plans to have the option we used to have with avast 4.8 on pre-release/beta versions of just downloading the small beta conversion file, disable self-defence module run the setup.exe file and it only downloads and updates the necessary files ?

I would love to participate in the pre-release version but at 55.01MB it is a bit much on dial-up (220 minutes), especially if there is any likelihood/possibility of having to repeat the exercise when the regular release comes out.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline cadremis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
  • Proud Mexican Avast User
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2010, 01:45:39 AM »
Working fine with me... I installed it 1 hour ago and seems to be working very good.
1.-W/7 Ultimate SP1,32bts Intel Core 2 CPU 6300 1.86Ghz 2G RAM Intel G965.
Avast Free 7.0.1474, Online Armor Free Firewall 6.0.0.1736, Firefox 17.01, SandBoxie 3.76,Free,Mbam & SAS,PandaUSB Vaccine

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2010, 02:03:35 AM »
Installed and working Win7 64... :D Thanks


You mean the "Upgrade" button, right...?
Yes, the link is currently dead, I've noticed that also. Not a big deal unless you want to upgrade to the paid version anyway... ;-)

That's new, by the settings button? Yes, gives a 404...

Like the news section, but I think it would be better placed above the advert...Most people wouldn't have noticed it...

Good Work :)

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1552
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2010, 02:10:59 AM »
Wait will the the Get Upgrade button be next to settings ???  or will it be in the same place.
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2010, 02:12:42 AM »
Wait will the the Get Upgrade button be next to settings ???  or will it be in the same place.

There is a button next to the settings, just under the red x and minimise buttons (my first image)
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline 0strodamus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2010, 02:28:22 AM »
No issues noted here with the Pro version.  :)
RT: Malware Defender | Look 'n' Stop | avast! 6 Pro | SuRun | Acrylic DNS | Sandboxie
OD: HostsMan | Trojan Remover | Avira CL | MBAM Pro
OS: Windows XP SP3

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1552
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2010, 02:35:39 AM »

There is a button next to the settings, just under the red x and minimise buttons (my first image)
oh ok than lol   what is mainly new in the new version?  :)
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2010, 02:38:21 AM »
Besides what Vlk has said, all I have noticed so far is the avast! news service (under the advertisment on the summary page...)

Most likely though most changes we wont notice so much...

-Scott

EDIT: Another thing I have noticed, is on the alerts, I think this link could be improved? What about the buttons we have seen in the alerts before?

By the way, it link to here: http://www.avast.com/en-gb/lp-security-information-fp?utm_campaign=Virus_alert&utm_source=fa_50_0&utm_medium=prg_systray&utm_content=en-gb
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 03:08:20 AM by spg SCOTT »
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline xqrzd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #25 on: August 25, 2010, 03:56:44 AM »
I found a minor problem after upgrading. I currently have the avast firewall set to ask me when a new program tries to connect to the internet. After I restarted my computer and logged in after the upgrade, I noticed the avast setup process seemed to have froze, so I rebooted, and when I logged in, avast asked me whether or not to allow the avast setup to access the internet. It appears that if the GUI component is not loaded, dialogs from the firewall are lost, which resulted in the avast setup process freezing.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2010, 04:03:58 AM »
Besides what Vlk has said, all I have noticed so far is the avast! news service (under the advertisment on the summary page...)
Can you post a screenshot? I have the pro version and can't see it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline jcvo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2010, 04:14:01 AM »
all antivirus categories ...not very good

Code: [Select]
Febrero: http://www.av-comparatives.org/images/stories/test/ondret/avc_report25.pdf

Mayo: http://www.av-comparatives.org/images/stories/test/ondret/avc_report26.pdf
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 05:05:32 AM by jcvo »

Offline shibata3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #28 on: August 25, 2010, 05:06:27 AM »
@ VLK

Is there any plan to add scanning to restart (boot-time scan) on 64 bit systems?

TIA
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 05:20:33 AM by shibata3 »

Offline DeathKnight206

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #29 on: August 25, 2010, 05:25:31 AM »
Can an option be added to auto update before scanning?  When I leave for Church on Sunday I tell it to auto scan at 9:30 but I forget to attempt to update the definitions.  I would appreciate this option being added.  Thanks

-DK206   :) :) :)