Author Topic: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [NOW 5.0.673] ***  (Read 119689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #30 on: August 25, 2010, 06:29:15 AM »
Worked fine on my Windows 7 sytem but on my XP Pro system I get the following error ???

Same  here. :(
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 06:34:49 AM by jadinolf »
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #31 on: August 25, 2010, 06:45:36 AM »
Hi

New paying customer as of today upgraded to AIS.

I installed it on my small home network (3 computers 1 XP SP3 and 2 Wind 7 HP) and it appears to be working fine except for the sound problem in sandbox on my XP machine.

I have 5.0.594 on all three computers

Downloaded 5.0.656

Tried to install it over 5.0.594 only the XP computer

Got the following error message.

The setup does not contain all the needed components.  Uninstall the current version and then reinstall (Presumably the new version)

I did not uninstall 5.0.594 and then try to reinstall 5.0.656

Anyone have any other suggestions.

Thanks
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #32 on: August 25, 2010, 07:57:11 AM »
Next thing I knew 5.0594 would not apply the virus definitions update.  Gave me a big red error message

So I thought.  This is no good if it is not updating the virus definitions

So I decided to try and reinstall 5.0594 and low and behold the program asked me if I wanted to uninstall it.

I said what the heck and did

Then I installed 5.0656.   It installed fine except

I had to do the entire setup of custom scans etc all over again.

Then I checked the Real-Time Shield section and guess what.  No Process Virtualization option

So I thought to myself maybe I should try and install 5.0656 on my Windows 7 desktop computer and see what happens

Installed in nothing flat no problem

However the "Process Virtualization" Real-Time Shield option showed up.

I did the same on my Windows 7 Netbook and viola PV also showed up there.

So I figured getting 2 out of 3 ain't too bad considering the one I didn't get was my XP computer.

Maybe, just maybe that the no PV on the XP upgrade to 5.0656 was the reason that I got the initial error message of missing components when I tried to install 5.0656 right over 5.0594 on my XP computer.

Did Avast lock out the Process Virtualization feature on XP computers intentionally until some problems like the lack of sound in the Sandbox can be fixed?



OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Online NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4789
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #33 on: August 25, 2010, 09:08:32 AM »
Installed avast5 Free 5.0.656. So far no problems.

One minor question:
I can't see News sections that spg SCOTT said... is it limited to paid users? ???
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premier Beta / (looking for firewall...)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline dcurryallen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #34 on: August 25, 2010, 10:36:23 AM »
Downloading now, will report back if any problems!

Offline rambo1940

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #35 on: August 25, 2010, 10:47:16 AM »
Upgrade at the top.
Upgrade at the bottom
Soon it will be as bad as AVG
Please don't spoil the interface with adverts
Regards

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #36 on: August 25, 2010, 10:49:02 AM »
just wondering why a pre-release is needed, any other software company would have just sent the (minor) update, after some internal testing. But okay, one cannot blame Avast for being extra-careful ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline dcurryallen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #37 on: August 25, 2010, 11:52:54 AM »
I am running XP-pro w/sp3, have Avast! Internet Security 5.0.594 and downloaded the 5.0.656 beta, but I too get the error message shown above!  I attempted to install over the 594 version.  Any ideas?

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #38 on: August 25, 2010, 11:56:01 AM »
Looks like I'll wait until the release version since I'm on XP.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #39 on: August 25, 2010, 12:01:00 PM »
@ VLK

Is there any plan to add scanning to restart (boot-time scan) on 64 bit systems?

TIA
Hello,

This is planned for version 5.1, which is coming soon ;)
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...

Offline reddy.shyam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #40 on: August 25, 2010, 12:07:09 PM »
downloading..and testing

is it still in beta?

5.0.594 - Stable public release
5.0.656 - Pre-release (More of alpha/beta)

Hope this helps.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #41 on: August 25, 2010, 12:12:37 PM »
5.0.594 - Stable public release
5.0.656 - Pre-release (More of alpha/beta)
5.0.594 has been the official release for over 9 months now
5.0.656 is the pre-release available to the public for beta testing (not alpha)
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline reddy.shyam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #42 on: August 25, 2010, 12:29:48 PM »
5.0.594 - Stable public release
5.0.656 - Pre-release (More of alpha/beta)
5.0.594 has been the official release for over 9 months now
5.0.656 is the pre-release available to the public for beta testing (not alpha)

5.0.377 was released 7 months ago.
5.0.594 was released may be two months ago.

Thankyou for the clarification.  :)
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 12:37:40 PM by reddy.shyam »

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #43 on: August 25, 2010, 01:21:42 PM »
Besides what Vlk has said, all I have noticed so far is the avast! news service (under the advertisment on the summary page...)
Can you post a screenshot? I have the pro version and can't see it.

On the summary page, scroll down under the advert. It is the second picture here:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=63151.msg533518#msg533518


...
One minor question:
I can't see News sections that spg SCOTT said... is it limited to paid users? ???
I use the free version.



@ VLK

Is there any plan to add scanning to restart (boot-time scan) on 64 bit systems?

TIA

It is being worked on for a target of version 5.1

-Scott-
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New pre-release build of avast [5.0.656] ***
« Reply #44 on: August 25, 2010, 01:47:12 PM »
Scott, it isn't there in the pro version...
The best things in life are free.