Author Topic: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS  (Read 1329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KL_Wanderer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« on: August 03, 2020, 01:28:45 AM »
Hello there, hope your all well.

I recently had an issue with low FPS in a game I had not played in a while (FrostPunk on Steam).  After playing for a few minutes the game would drop from 100fps+ to about 15-20fps.  I discovered that reloading the game or even just loading a saved game would return it to 100fps+ but always after a few minutes it was again back at 15-20fps.

A lot had changed on my system since last playing it, new motherboard and graphics card, lots of game, app and driver updates.  I looked across my system for settings that might change the situation but nothing appeared to help.  I reported the issue to AMD as I thought it must be a graphics driver problem as anything using just the CPU appeared to run normally.

I then told AMD that it does not appear to be their drivers.  I discovered in Avast, going to Performance > Do Not Disturb Mode > selecting the game in question and unchecking the box "Maximise Performance", returned to game to normal, and in fact it provided a fps boost in most other titles.

Therefore I conclude there is an issue with "Maximise Performance" option in Avast(free).  Has anyone else had this issue? Is there a way to stop Avast applying that specific option to every app/game?

My system...
CPU: AMD 3800X (@stock core clocks, infinity fabric @1800)
Memory: 32GB RAM (@3600)
Graphics: AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT SE
Motherboard: MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi (bios 1.15)
Storage: Win10 Pro on Seagate Firecuda 520 1TB NVME using PCI4.0, Games on Seagate Exos 8TB
« Last Edit: August 03, 2020, 01:32:08 AM by KL_Wanderer »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69997
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2020, 01:18:48 PM »
- Which version/build of Avast Free..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline KL_Wanderer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2020, 06:15:51 PM »
Hi there,

Software...
Avast Free 20.6.2420 (Build 20.6.5495.561)
64bit Windows 10 Pro 2004 Build 19041.388

I don't have any other AV running.  However I do have a copy of Malwarebytes Free (4.1.0.56) set to manual so it only runs when I want it to.  Windows defender is used occasionally in the same way.

Hope this helps.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69997
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2020, 05:55:26 AM »
Follow instructions: https://support.avast.com/article/33/ and post the File-ID and/or name of the Support-File here afterwards.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline KL_Wanderer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2020, 10:32:06 PM »
Hi there,

I've just realised that Avast updated itself recently and the version I mentioned was not the version in use at the time, it was the previous one, don't know the version number of that one.  I keep the software as up to date as I can.  However I've still done as you have asked.  Avast file ID is CM421

Also... On the current version I re-enabled maximise performance to check if the issue is still happening and there is no drop in performance as before.  Maybe a problem with files from previous version or similar?

Not sure whether this has been a waste of time or it will happen again. ??

Thanks,

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69997
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Maximise Performance option tanks FPS
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2020, 05:32:44 AM »
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0