Author Topic: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)  (Read 115744 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline superhumanbean

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 414
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #60 on: September 08, 2010, 09:35:18 PM »
Used the Program Update function and experienced no problems so far.
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU / 16 GB RAM / Avast Ultimate / MBAM Free

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #61 on: September 09, 2010, 12:19:18 AM »
So far so good here as well.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline g0dsends

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #62 on: September 09, 2010, 01:05:44 AM »
yeah im on avast pro and i guess the new sandbox is only on avast security
the new build updates fast and no issue i have come across great work vik  :P :)
i will be recommending avast too my friends too :) :)
Windows Xp Pro Service Pack 3  Avast Free 9.0
Super anti spyware Pro 5.6 
Malwarebytes Pro 1.75

Offline Llanziel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 363
  • “Life is not fair; get used to it.”
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #63 on: September 09, 2010, 01:18:06 AM »
So far so good here as well.

Same here.
Windows 7 64-bit SP1
avast! free 6, windows firewall, ie9 & firefox, proxpn, keepass 2, visual c# 2010 express

Offline aspiratii

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #64 on: September 09, 2010, 02:39:20 AM »
heeeeeelp i updated to avast 5.0.677 and the web shield dose not allow me to connect to the internet ....i cn only conect to the internet if i turn my web shield of..."not a good idea"....if some1 can help me in any way so i cn brows the internet with the web shield on......tnx

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #65 on: September 09, 2010, 02:53:53 AM »
heeeeeelp i updated to avast 5.0.677 and the web shield dose not allow me to connect to the internet ....i cn only conect to the internet if i turn my web shield of..."not a good idea"....if some1 can help me in any way so i cn brows the internet with the web shield on......tnx
Which is your firewall? Is avast allowed to connect?
Any other antivirus before avast?

I suggest an installation from scratch:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

Offline aspiratii

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #66 on: September 09, 2010, 03:37:44 AM »
sorry 2 say but no it didnt wrk......the version is avast pro 5.0.677 ....i don't know what 2 do really....i think its just the web shield settings but i tried 2 modify them with no use ... dose anyone know how 2 fix the problem?
if i take web shield of ...and leave the rest runing ....is that ok?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 04:12:25 AM by aspiratii »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #67 on: September 09, 2010, 03:49:12 AM »
Vlk,
Seems that you have solved the incompatibility with Virtualbox.
Can you confirm?

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61045.msg516060#msg516060
The best things in life are free.

Offline SamHui

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #68 on: September 09, 2010, 06:11:09 AM »
Hi, just wondering if anyone else is having this small minor problem with the new 5.0.677.  When I right click on the tray icon, the right click menu does not disappear unless you actually click on one of the options.  It used to disappear with the previous version.  Thanks.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #69 on: September 09, 2010, 06:32:44 AM »
Hi, just wondering if anyone else is having this small minor problem with the new 5.0.677.  When I right click on the tray icon, the right click menu does not disappear unless you actually click on one of the options.  It used to disappear with the previous version.  Thanks.

yes, it will be fixed..

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1791
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #70 on: September 09, 2010, 08:02:40 AM »
i noticed something wrong with later builds of Avast! 5

it's related to streamed content (e.g. with latest DivX and some other video (rarely also big audio files) ...

as some point the stream become 'cut' and cease to work

when you disable Avast 5 and reinit then all goes correctly

w7 64bit happens with latest Opera, IE, FF
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #71 on: September 09, 2010, 10:11:55 AM »
Hi, just wondering if anyone else is having this small minor problem with the new 5.0.677.  When I right click on the tray icon, the right click menu does not disappear unless you actually click on one of the options.  It used to disappear with the previous version.  Thanks.
Hi SamHui,
same at me, but the guys from Alwil will fix it!

yes, it will be fixed..
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85756
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #72 on: September 09, 2010, 02:50:20 PM »
I have to admit I hadn't noticed it as I generally don't right click on the avast icon without having a purpose in mind, e.g. selecting one of the options. But yes it is there in XP SP3 also and if you happen to hover over one of the sub-menu options and move away that, the sub-menu remains also.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 849
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #73 on: September 09, 2010, 04:22:28 PM »
Thanks for the new version  ;)

Offline Rue3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #74 on: September 09, 2010, 04:42:40 PM »
i noticed something wrong with later builds of Avast! 5

it's related to streamed content (e.g. with latest DivX and some other video (rarely also big audio files) ...

as some point the stream become 'cut' and cease to work

when you disable Avast 5 and reinit then all goes correctly

w7 64bit happens with latest Opera, IE, FF
Hi!
I have been having the exact same problem with Avast 5 as well. When I watch a streaming video online it doesn't run smooth like it should. It is always skipping along. It was so annoying that I uninstalled the previous version and used a different AV program in which solved the problem(this was about a month ago). I hated switching because I have been really happy with Avast for many years. When I read yesterday that there was a new update I quickly uninstalled the other AV program and reinstalled Avast again hoping that the problem will be solved but unfortunately it isn't for me. Btw I'm happy to be using Avast again. :)

(using Windows XP with FF)
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 04:46:27 PM by Rue3 »