Author Topic: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)  (Read 114816 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3340
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #210 on: October 09, 2010, 06:42:37 PM »
That why the devil loves breaking into their computers without knowing they still have a bag full of hell virus ;D
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.5.2470 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline zuritalex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #211 on: October 13, 2010, 09:13:42 PM »
Hi!
I've had troubles with this new version (5.0.677). Sometimes it doesn't update automatically the motor and virus database! Even I have a desktop computer, in which it doesn't update since the program new version was installed (09/24/10). Am I the only one having these problems? Help me, please!

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #212 on: October 17, 2010, 12:53:38 PM »
zuritalex,

Please start a New Topic and we will help you there. 

Go to this link, http://forum.avast.com/index.php, scroll down to the Avast Free/Pro/Suite forum and click it, click the New Topic button at the top of the list and post there.  Thank you.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline cherry845

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #213 on: October 18, 2010, 07:34:26 PM »
I like this version! Thank you very much.

Offline 12-es_csaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Stop malicious codes! We don't want them!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #214 on: October 18, 2010, 07:43:02 PM »
When will a new version be released?
avast! still has a lot of bug..  :(
Fix them, and then avast only needs to improve the detection, and it will be a great software!
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit - Service Pack 1
Resident: avast! 6.0.1289; Windows Firewall On-demand: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware free
Browsers: Mozilla Firefox; Google Chrome

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #215 on: October 18, 2010, 11:20:19 PM »
Fix them

Easy to say ? But is it easy to do it ?

A program will never be bugs free.

Offline 12-es_csaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Stop malicious codes! We don't want them!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #216 on: October 18, 2010, 11:28:23 PM »
A program will never be bugs free.

But avast has lots of big bugs.
Other antiviruses haven't got any, or if they have, the bugs will be fixed in about 1-2 months.
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit - Service Pack 1
Resident: avast! 6.0.1289; Windows Firewall On-demand: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware free
Browsers: Mozilla Firefox; Google Chrome

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #217 on: October 18, 2010, 11:33:02 PM »
Well understand it that avast! is releached for like if im not wrong 3-4 months or more so its take times to fixes bugs.

Just be patient and if there bugs then let a member of their team to know and they will try their best.

Mr.Agent

PS : Its aint easy to do and got a job like this so let give them the time and thank them. If you batch them its wont help its will just be worst.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #218 on: October 19, 2010, 01:19:54 AM »
A program will never be bugs free.

But avast has lots of big bugs.
Other antiviruses haven't got any, or if they have, the bugs will be fixed in about 1-2 months.
I don't know about "big bugs". It seems to me that 99% of the users have not encountered any.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline BowlerPortraits

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #219 on: October 19, 2010, 03:34:09 PM »
Nice to be updated, but not when Avast now blocks the ability to view web pages. I'm going to have to replace it till the fix is in :-[

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85384
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #220 on: October 19, 2010, 04:52:05 PM »
Check your other topic as I have replied there, you don't give any information as to what you did to try and resolve this.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.675) UI 1.0.646/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline 12-es_csaj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Stop malicious codes! We don't want them!
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #221 on: October 19, 2010, 06:21:32 PM »
A program will never be bugs free.

But avast has lots of big bugs.
Other antiviruses haven't got any, or if they have, the bugs will be fixed in about 1-2 months.
I don't know about "big bugs". It seems to me that 99% of the users have not encountered any.

For example, lots of people can't access the net through the browsers when the web shield is on. I think it is a "big bug". And In my opinion, about 99,99% of users don't know this forum, and don't report any bugs on it.
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit - Service Pack 1
Resident: avast! 6.0.1289; Windows Firewall On-demand: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware free
Browsers: Mozilla Firefox; Google Chrome

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85384
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #222 on: October 19, 2010, 07:30:04 PM »
Lots of people who visit the 'support' forums you mean, which is par for a support forum. If this were a 'bug' it would be impacting 'every' avast user, that is the nature of a 'bug.'

That clearly isn't the case (though it is a pain for those it is affecting) or there would be a flood of the 130 million plus avast users hitting the forums. But for those that are experiencing a problem. It needs to be worked through to try and identify the cause as there are so many different permutation of what is on an individual users system, firewall, other security applications, previous AV (if remnants remain) and any number of other things that may well conflict with the web shield. So this isn't something that is easily found.

By far the greatest majority of avast5 users are suffering none of these issues, but they don't come to the forums to shout about the fact that they don't have any problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.675) UI 1.0.646/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline mag

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 740
Re: New *release* build of avast now available (5.0.677)
« Reply #223 on: December 03, 2010, 07:36:45 PM »
Pleased to report that (after a firewall component uninstall and reinstall) the long filename/short filename problem appears resolved in 5.0.677. Starts via both filename versions of an application (I tried on wksss.exe) are now blocked from outbound connection by the same rule.

@mag:

Actually, this hasn't been fixed yet -- could you please tell me how did you test it?
Did you execute wksss.exe with short path? [e.g. did you type "c:\progra~1\wksss.exe" in cmd.exe?]

I think the outcome depends fully on the application which is used for wksss.exe execution.

Will this be fixed in 5.1?
Thanks