Author Topic: avast4 w2k msvcp70 entry point error  (Read 3202 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
avast4 w2k msvcp70 entry point error
« on: July 07, 2003, 12:40:30 AM »
hi,
I installed avast4 on windows 2000.
On reboot, error msg pops up:
"Can't find entry point....in msvcp70.dll."

Any attempt to start the avast services manually will result in the same error message.

These are the running services:
DHCP Client Started
DNS Client Started
Event Log Started
GoBack Polling Service Started
Kerio Personal Firewall 3 Started
Logical Disk Manager Started
Network Connections Started   
Plug and Play Started
Protected Storage Started
Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Started
Security Accounts Manager Started
Workstation Started
Remote Access Connection Manager Started
Telephony Started
Windows Management Instrumentation Driver- Extensions Started

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated- thank you.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:avast4 w2k msvcp70 entry point error
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2003, 02:04:05 AM »
dck,

I have not seen this error before, but lets see what we can do.

Do you get the error only when trying to start Avast? (In other words, is your system in a normal state, or does the error message appear DURING the boot up?

If it occurs only when you try to start Avast, try shutting down Kerio.  Kerio is a rule based firewall, so if you did not include Avast in the "permissions", Kerio will not allow Avast to start.

Your list of "running" programs looked ok to me.

Maybe one of the moderators can jump in on this with some more ideas!!!

 ???

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11678
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast4 w2k msvcp70 entry point error
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2003, 09:04:16 AM »
It sounds like the msvcp70.dll file (Microsoft C++ RunTime Library) got corrupted somehow... though I have no idea how it may have happened.

You can try replacing the file (should be in your windows\system32 directory) by a working one, e.g. from here: http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?msvcp70

Offline DCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:avast4 w2k msvcp70 entry point error
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2003, 10:28:30 AM »
:D :D :D

NOW AVAST! WORKS...
Thanks for the help!
I always install without having any other programs running, I also clear the system tray.
But apparently my FIRST installation of avast! was somehow incomplete and probably the reason why the eMail setup wizard didn't appear at all.

So what I did was a SECOND install and now the eMail setup wizard popped up and everything went fine!
I didn't change the system configuration before this second install so maybe this was just a random error.

Avast! runs excellently. No boot-up errors or other errors.
Happy...