Author Topic: Error Message when starting Avast4  (Read 6889 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wolfie0827

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Comp Tech!
Error Message when starting Avast4
« on: February 13, 2003, 08:18:32 PM »
I get an error message when starting the program " Unable to load skin" that is not exact, but it flashes by so fast and doesn't show in the log even for dr. watson. I am running a PII at 266mhz with 160mb memory, 6gb harddrive with 2.3Gb free space. This error occurs if I install with the skins or without.
 
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Thanks
Krist "Wolfie" Bussart

Offline Petr Markvart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • pmq
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2003, 11:21:21 AM »
Hello.
I need more detailed information.
Is it error message "Application cannot load skin. Function 'usiGetSkin' failed."? What operating system are you using? What version of avast4 are you using?

Offline Wolfie0827

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Comp Tech!
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2003, 11:48:29 PM »
That is the correct error message, I am using Windows 98SE, as for avast the current version along with the two before it. currently it's version 4.0.168, active skin version 4.2.7.3

Offline Petr Markvart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • pmq
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2003, 10:04:17 AM »
There was probably problem with active skin library activation in your system. You have to try activate actskin4.ocx file again.

Use command line:
C:\Windows\system\regsvr32.exe "C:\windows\system\actskin4.ocx"
 
"C:\Windows\system" = directory with system files.
Path to this directory depends on used system.
For example: C:\Win98\system, or C:\Win2000\system32
 
(Command line can be used by "Start" menu and option "Run...".)

Offline Wolfie0827

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Comp Tech!
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2003, 02:56:22 PM »
Tried that , same error comes up. only difference is now it stays on screen until you click the "ok" button.

Dear sir / Dear madam!

 1) Select START -> RUN...
 2) In the row write this command:
    a) If you have Windows NT, 2000 or XP:
    C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
    b) If you have Windows 95, 98 or Millenium:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
 3) Press OK (or Enter).
 4) Message saying that the file was successfully registered should
    appear.

 Now should all work properly.

--
I wish you pleasant day!

 Zrubecky (avast! support team) (Michal Zrubecky)
  mailto:zrubecky@asw.cz

Offline Wolfie0827

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Comp Tech!
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2003, 04:49:50 PM »
This is the full e-mail sent to tech support, it hasn't been answered yet.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
This is everything and I have attached a picture of the error window. I am using Windows 98SE, as for avast the current version along with the two before it. currently it's version 4.0.168, active skin version 4.2.7.3. I am an A+ Certified technician and have been working with computers, specifically PC's, for 24 years now. And this has me stumped. I even tried re-installing shockwave since the skins appear to be shockwave formats.
 
I get an error message when starting the program " Unable to load skin" that is not exact, but it flashes by so fast and doesnt show in the log even for dr. watson. I am running a PII at 266mhz with 160mb memory, 6gb harddrive with 2.3Gb free space. This error occurs if I install with the skins or without.
 
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Thanks
Krist "Wolfie" Bussart
 
Dear sir / Dear madam!

 1) Select START -> RUN...
 2) In the row write this command:
    a) If you have Windows NT, 2000 or XP:
    C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
    b) If you have Windows 95, 98 or Millenium:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
 3) Press OK (or Enter).
 4) Message saying that the file was successfully registered should
    appear.

 Now should all work properly.

--
I wish you pleasant day!

 Zrubecky (avast! support team) (Michal Zrubecky)
  mailto:zrubecky@asw.cz
  ICQ#: 112951452

There was probably problem with active skin library activation in your system. You have to try activate actskin4.ocx file again.

Use command line:
C:\Windows\system\regsvr32.exe "C:\windows\system\actskin4.ocx"

"C:\Windows\system" = directory with system files.
Path to this directory depends on used system.
For example: C:\Win98\system, or C:\Win2000\system32

(Command line can be used by "Start" menu and option "Run...".)

I tried both and neither one worked, I got the exact same error message appears.

 
----- Original Message -----
From: Petr Markvart
To: wolfie0827@hotmail.com
Sent: Monday, February 17, 2003 9:10 AM
Subject: forum...


What is wrong? Try to send me exact error description, please.
What did you  try? What kind of errors?
Petr Markvart
 
 
 Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #4 on: Today at 01:56:22pm »    

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tried that , same error comes up. only difference is now it stays on screen until you click the "ok" button.

Dear sir / Dear madam!

1) Select START -> RUN...
2) In the row write this command:
    a) If you have Windows NT, 2000 or XP:
    C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
    b) If you have Windows 95, 98 or Millenium:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
3) Press OK (or Enter).
4) Message saying that the file was successfully registered should
    appear.

Now should all work properly.

--
I wish you pleasant day!

Zrubecky (avast! support team) (Michal Zrubecky)
  mailto:zrubecky@asw.cz
 
d


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------





Offline itam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Error Message when starting Avast4
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2003, 06:02:07 PM »
Hi, i have win Me and exactly the same problem. When i try to start avast! Antivirus, the program tests memory ok and right after that i get an error message which is exaclty the same. And NONE of the suggestions to correct the problem worked :(
I have a clean install of avast.  
Any help?