Author Topic: Windows XP SP2  (Read 55482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline simonk83

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Windows XP SP2
« on: August 06, 2004, 02:44:08 AM »
Hi.  

I just wanted to check that Avast! will be compatible with SP2 when it is finally released.

Ta

Simon

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5091
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2004, 02:50:21 AM »
 It is already detected by the security Center in SP2 BETA
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline simonk83

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2004, 02:54:13 AM »
Ok, I assume that is a good thing :)

Thanks ;)

Simon

Offline webhostau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • host exPert
    • Webhosting Melbourne
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2004, 08:06:23 AM »
Looking forward to running avast with sp2. woooppiieeeeeeeeeeeedooooooooooooooooo
~ for all your web hosting needs visit Webhosting Melbourne http://www.webhostingmelbourne.com/

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2004, 08:17:27 AM »
Yes, it works OK even now (with the pre-relase builds of SP2). The only exception is if you have an AMD64-based machine.

BTW webhostau, do your dedicated web servers really have 1.2TB monthly traffic limit? How are they connected?


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline webhostau

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • host exPert
    • Webhosting Melbourne
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2004, 08:44:02 AM »
1200MB bandwidth per month oh, thats for sure. No more no less :D
~ for all your web hosting needs visit Webhosting Melbourne http://www.webhostingmelbourne.com/

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2004, 08:47:02 AM »
You meant 1200GB, right? ;) :)

What is the connection like?
Who's your provider etc? How big is your facility? Do you have fire proctection? Power supply backups? Etc... :)
« Last Edit: August 06, 2004, 08:47:48 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Blackwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2004, 03:30:34 PM »
Yes, it works OK even now (with the pre-relase builds of SP2). The only exception is if you have an AMD64-based machine.
Is there a problem running Avast! on an Athlon 64 with 32-bit Windows XP SP2, or are you talking about 64-bit Windows?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2004, 06:22:41 PM »
Quote
Is there a problem running Avast! on an Athlon 64 with 32-bit Windows XP SP2, or are you talking about 64-bit Windows?


Talking about the regular (32-bit) version.
Yes, there's a problem in the current build.
It's already fixed but the update has not been released yet.

The problem is related to the DEP feature (Data Execution Prevention). There are some workarounds, though, if you'd need I can provide you with more info...


Cheers,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Blackwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2004, 07:15:06 PM »
Thanks for the reply, Vlk.

I'm not running SP2 yet.  I'll wait and see if Microsoft manage to release it or if they delay again. If they release it before your update is available, I'll be in touch about the work-around.

By the way, I just switched to Avast from Norton, and so far, I'm very pleased with it.  Thanks again.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2004, 07:15:43 PM by Blackwood »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2004, 08:03:04 PM »
Thanks.
The work around is actually pretty easy, all you have to do is disable the DEP feature for the avast's processes.

BTW we hope to release the update (avast 4.5) before SP2 goes gold.


Cheers,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Staind

  • Guest
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2004, 12:03:45 AM »
When is SP2 suppose to be released? I thought in January the expected release was like Mid June / July.

Offline mikedallos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Cynic/Sage
    • COMPUTERDAD
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2004, 02:25:17 AM »
I got it......testing right now!!!


Online bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45678
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2004, 02:30:44 AM »
mikedallos
That's still beta version it's not the final release. At least it's not available in windows update.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mikedallos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Cynic/Sage
    • COMPUTERDAD
Re:Windows XP SP2
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2004, 02:33:11 AM »
mikedallos
That's still beta version it's not the final release. At least it's not available in windows update.

Right......I'm just testing the waters......wish me luck!!

So far.....so good!!

Be well.........