Author Topic: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield  (Read 8068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Avastfan1

  • Guest
Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« on: November 02, 2010, 10:41:40 PM »
Dear Forum,

How do you manually configure Avast's web proxy shield for Firefox?

The instructional video on Avast's support website is no longer available.

Thanks!

Avastfan1

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86658
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 10:53:47 PM »
Why do you need to do it manually, if you have XP or higher it should be transparent ?

See image, Tools, Options, Advanced, Network tab, Connection, Settings button, Manual proxy configuration, HTTP Proxy: localhost Port: 12080
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Avastfan1

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 08:21:31 AM »
Hello DavidR,

Isn't it necessary to configure it manually? What is the precise meaning of transparent in this context?

Thank you for the screenshot. Could you kindly provide the whole picture of the Firefox configuration?

Best regards,

Avastfan1

osants911

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2010, 09:01:49 AM »
Hi Avastfan1,

There is an comprehensive article at avast! Support Center about configuration of the Web Shield HTTP proxy.

http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=22&group=eng


Hope this helps


SafeSurf

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2010, 10:09:21 AM »

There is an comprehensive article at avast! Support Center about configuration of the Web Shield HTTP proxy.
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=22&group=eng
This is an old article that I don't think applies to v.5.0.  I agree with David, that I do not think any configuration is necessary.  I use FF and do not have to make any configuration for either XP-Home, XP-Pro, or Vista.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86658
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2010, 02:10:52 PM »
Isn't it necessary to configure it manually? What is the precise meaning of transparent in this context?

Thank you for the screenshot. Could you kindly provide the whole picture of the Firefox configuration?

No it isn't necessary to manually set it.
Transparent as in you don't have to do anything for it to work with supported OSes and browsers, your OS and browser are supported so should work and the web shield scan http port 80 traffic. Are you saying it doesn't work - Have you checked ?

There is no need for me to post another image as a) I have posted all relevan't parts that require input and b) what is stopping you simply opening up firefox as I have outlined and take a look.

The instructions on their own I feel were comprehensive without an image, that was just the icing on the cake.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86658
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2010, 02:15:28 PM »

There is an comprehensive article at avast! Support Center about configuration of the Web Shield HTTP proxy.
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=22&group=eng
This is an old article that I don't think applies to v.5.0.  I agree with David, that I do not think any configuration is necessary.  I use FF and do not have to make any configuration for either XP-Home, XP-Pro, or Vista.


Whilst the article is old and related to an old problem with zone alarm compatibility, it is still relevant for those using older OSes which require manual configuration. Unfortunately the links to the supporting tutorials are no longer available as has been mentioned by the OP.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Avastfan1

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2010, 10:36:51 PM »
Thanks for the replies.

How can I check if the web shield scanning port 80 traffic is working?

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2505
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2010, 10:58:50 PM »
Thanks for the replies.

How can I check if the web shield scanning port 80 traffic is working?
Go under Avast Settings/Troubleshooting/Redirect Settings and delete HTTP port 80 then go to Web Shield traffic and visit several different sites. There should be no traffic. With port 80 deleted the webshield will no longer work. Then go back to redirect settings and retype 80. Visit several sites and you will see traffic. Don't forget to enter 80 or your webshield will not scan. The only thing I have ever seen in the report file is that it has started (kind of a lame report).
« Last Edit: November 03, 2010, 11:02:22 PM by Charyb »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86658
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2010, 10:59:04 PM »
By looking at the Web Shield screen.

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2010, 11:18:16 PM »
Works great for me after selecting Show traffic history

Avastfan1

  • Guest
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2010, 04:45:53 PM »
It appears to be working.

Thanks.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86658
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2010, 04:54:17 PM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Question: Configuring Avast's manual web proxy shield
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2010, 11:10:34 PM »
Everyone know about this, just a reminder... To make sure it will block malwares, This is safe and nice way: http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux