Author Topic: avast! becamed a resource hog ???  (Read 8205 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9404
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« on: August 08, 2004, 12:08:19 PM »
Stranges thing happend few days ago. I reinstalled Windows and installed avast! as usual. After few minutes of usage i checked task manager and avast! was using over 30MB of RAM (if you sum all modules). I restarted machine and it was the same. Also fully reinstalled avast! and it was the same. I was usually used to 18MB MAX not 30 which is really near NAV2004.
I was using avast! Pro 4.1 the latest available build (as usual).
Hope this is going to be fixed or at least lowered in v4.5 because its really annoying that my favorite AV uses so much memory.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47251
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2004, 01:11:55 PM »
RejZoR
That's strange, I just checked mine and it just under 18MB. ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2004, 01:18:23 PM »
If you're looking at the Mem Usage column of Task Manager than you're getting misleading values.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=37

Also, please realize that all code sections are shared so summing the "consumption" of all the processes just doesn't make any sense (there's a big intersection).
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47251
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2004, 01:29:37 PM »
Thanks Vlk
That does cut it down. Why do some provessed sho a greater VM Size the the Mem usage size?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86804
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2004, 01:42:18 PM »
My combined total is over 31MB but based on the information in the link and info provided by Vlk, plus the fact that I have 512MB Ram, 31MB doesn't seem large.

However, when you look at the combined Virtual Memory size of 15MB, it is even more acceptable.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86804
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2004, 01:58:04 PM »
Thanks Vlk
That does cut it down. Why do some provessed sho a greater VM Size the the Mem usage size?

The only ones I can find on my setup that are greater are WinLogon and Explorer.

The winlogon one, I find that strange as having run unless you are constantly switching user it would ahve remaind stable.

Explorer because it retains history would be variable. The same would also apply to other programs that work with files/data that would be retained in virtual memory for a time.

I think this could also be effected by how you have your System Properties > Performance > Settings > Advanced - Memory Usage, setup
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9404
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2004, 02:05:01 PM »
Now that is something different. Thanks very much Vlk for this great explanation. I removed Memory usage column and replaced it with Virtual Memory size. So the overall memory usage is wrong too in WinXP/2000?
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast! becamed a resource hog ???
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2004, 02:11:15 PM »
Quote
Why do some provessed sho a greater VM Size the the Mem usage size?


In short:

Mem Usage: the total number of pages the process has currently resident in its address space. This is sometimes also called
"Process Working Set". Few examples:

- a process maps a 300MB file (no memory allocation, really, just "mapping" -- this does not in fact consume any RAM) -- the Mem Usage column will increase by 300MB

- a process allocates 300MB of heap (i.e. RAM) but then goes idle for X hours. The system swaps the memory to the page file and the Mem Usage column can drop to e.g. 1MB.

VM Size: Size of memory allocated by the process (heap, stack etc). This is sometimes also called "Private Bytes". If a process allocates 300MB of heap, the VM Size will not drop bellow 300MB. If a process maps a 300MB file, the VM Size will not change.

In general, VM Size is a much better indicator of memory hogs. Of course, there are also some exceptions. Since Windows manages memory internally, it's not always easy to find out what's going on when the value is too high/low - it may require deeper analysis...


Cheers,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.