Author Topic: How can i remove this ??  (Read 5581 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ilker

  • Guest
How can i remove this ??
« on: October 08, 2010, 07:01:51 AM »
Hello guys,
 
 There is restriction by Turkish Government against accessing Youtube so we try different techniques like changing DNS and connecting from different servers. Please look at my attachment and you will see i was using a different server when i use Youtube and then i was unchecking it when i am done. Now we can access again with DNS and i don't need the server anymore. The server name shown there even though i reset my IE8 which bothers me. It stuck there and it should be gone after reset  ???

 What can i do for this ??

 Many thanks

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76118
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 09:47:30 AM »
What can i do for this ??

As it's greyed out, it will not be used...
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

ilker

  • Guest
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 01:15:27 PM »
 Ok, but i want it disappear just like in the DNS settings when we select Obtain DNS server address automatically. 

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2010, 01:17:24 PM »
If you check the option right above it (Use automatic configuration script) won't it be allowed to delete the info?
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47420
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2010, 04:13:31 PM »
Hello guys,
 
 There is restriction by Turkish Government against accessing Youtube so we try different techniques like changing DNS and connecting from different servers. Please look at my attachment and you will see i was using a different server when i use Youtube and then i was unchecking it when i am done. Now we can access again with DNS and i don't need the server anymore. The server name shown there even though i reset my IE8 which bothers me. It stuck there and it should be gone after reset  ???

 What can i do for this ??

 Many thanks
once you check the box next to the grayed out server, you should then be able to access the information,
delete it and then uncheck the box again.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

ilker

  • Guest
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2010, 07:03:25 AM »
Guys,

 I check the box and select the address and i can delete it. Then i hit close but when i open the same window i see it is still there and greyed out. This is very strange. Maybe for you it is not a problem but this really bothered me. And when i reseted my IE 8 i could still see my favourite pages in the Favourites Bar. Reset function is not working well i guess...

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86919
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2010, 03:22:54 PM »
There is no Close button in your image only OK, Cancel or using the X close at the top right of the window.

If you used the X close then nothing would have been saved, you would have to make your changes (check the box, remove the configuration address, uncheck the box, select Automatically detect settings) and OK your way out.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

ilker

  • Guest
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2010, 07:34:18 AM »
I did what you say DavidR but it didn't work. Then i had to uninstall IE 8 and reinstalled it. Now the address is gone. But i still could not find a way other than uninstalling to remove the address from there.

 Thanks guys for your replies and help.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76118
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2010, 08:07:46 AM »
Sorry, but why the effort of un-/reinstalling for an inactive entry..??
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

ilker

  • Guest
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2010, 11:43:52 AM »
Because this is me. I don't want it there even though it is inactive due to security considerations.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76118
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2010, 11:46:11 AM »
Because this is me. I don't want it there even though it is inactive due to security considerations.

I see... ;)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2010, 01:48:26 AM »
Go to registry (Run -> regedt32) search for that domain name, find the value, empty the value (no need to delete it)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

ilker

  • Guest
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2010, 07:58:36 AM »
 ;D  This worked Omid great advice ! I did what exactly you said and the address is not there ( i tried it in my other pc )  Thank you so much.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2010, 09:20:58 AM »
I'm Glad it worked 8)
You are welcome!
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Marc57

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1944
  • KISS Rules The World!!!
    • KISS Army
Re: How can i remove this ??
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2010, 09:25:42 AM »
Great info Omid, Good to know.

Thanks
You Wanted the Best You Got the Best the Hottest Band in the World KISS!!!