Author Topic: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!  (Read 31063 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #45 on: October 17, 2010, 01:46:23 PM »
Could you clarify please the following:

You are able to access the internet.
The internet works OK but it is just the network connection area that is blank

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #46 on: October 17, 2010, 05:19:44 PM »
PC goes in Internet automatically when I connect the adsl cable.

The net resources window remains empty and there's no guide to make a new connection (when I click on 'new connection' on Control Panel: it does nothing = no new window appears).

The alert window from INTERNET EXPLORER continues to appear from time to time, eventhough i don't use IE and i have already the last IE version ( version 8 ).

"Errore nello Script di Internet Explorer" (I don't use Win explorer and I have erased the browser since i receive this note, but it appears the same)
(continues...)
"Errore nello Script della pagina
Linea: 71
Carattere: 2
Errore: 'topcontentFrame main location' è nullo o non è un oggetto.
Codice: 0
URL: file://C:\Programmi\Alice ti aiuta\vendors\Alice RE\content\template\driven_dev\syncer\content\MotivePClient html
Continuare a eseguire gli script della pagina?  yes  or  No "


No LAN /INTERNET CONNECTION - ICONS appear on the toolbar (down the desktop window).


Yesterday, before turning off the PC, ran again AVAST in Windows: PC crashed some minutes after beginning (10 minutes or so).
 PC restarted. The log said there was no virus, but running time was 00:00.
Tried again: Ran AVAST in Windows and this time there were no interruptions. No virus found.


« Last Edit: October 17, 2010, 11:00:12 PM by Kary »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #47 on: October 17, 2010, 05:58:08 PM »
Go to control panel > internet options > advanced and ensure that Java script debugging and other Java elements are as shown on the picture attached

Next lets re-register the relevant dll's

Go to Start > Run > cmd.exe
In the command window type the following, pressing enter after each line

regsvr32 netshell.dll
regsvr32 netcfgx.dll
regsvr32 netman.dll


Reboot and let me know if that cures it
« Last Edit: October 17, 2010, 06:22:17 PM by essexboy »

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #48 on: October 17, 2010, 08:45:13 PM »
Done all what you said, but net resources window is still empty and it's not yet possible to make a new connection.  :(

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #49 on: October 19, 2010, 05:35:29 PM »
Should i try with malawarebytes?


Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #50 on: October 19, 2010, 09:09:59 PM »
Normally re-registering the dll's will reset the network connections, but yes try MBAM - I am still trying to find a resolution for this

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #51 on: October 19, 2010, 09:15:55 PM »
I can't remember whether I asked you to run all of the elements on this MS page http://support.microsoft.com/kb/825826

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #52 on: October 20, 2010, 09:01:04 PM »
Tried all and more... nothing  :'(

Only thing could not do is to use another modem (have only one) :(

(Have not tried the advanced methods).

Have noticed that when I try WINDOWS UPDATE from 'all programs' on Start Menù it opens nothing (!)
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 09:13:05 PM by Kary »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #53 on: October 20, 2010, 09:33:18 PM »
OK I will need to discuss this with some techs

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #54 on: October 20, 2010, 09:38:36 PM »
Still cannot update Windows. Tried copying the address in a new IE window: they always say i must change 'persistence user's data' to 'active' (in IE 'Tools': Internet Options: Security: Personalized level: Settings: "others"). IT IS ALWAYS SET AS ACTIVE. :o  :(


Sorry seems we were writing at the same time. :-[

Will wait, tks.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 10:09:05 PM by Kary »

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #55 on: October 25, 2010, 04:17:14 PM »
Still waiting, please.  :(

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #56 on: October 28, 2010, 09:45:25 PM »
Having same problems, no control with internet. Provider says it is not a problem with the modem nor with the line nor the internet connection. The net connections window still looks empty. Always alert window says it seems it is not permitted to show the list of connections... :(

Have erased the provider help program and the window which showed error in internet explorer doesn't appear more..., but have no more help program.
Tried to reset the CD from provider: the wizard says it is not possible.

Still cannot load anything from Windows Update page. Same error. Says how to correct it, but it is to see it is not necessary because the 'changes' are already there.

Adobe flash has also problems to update. Says it is a problem with Windows Installer.
Have downloaded Windows Installer to my Netbook's Desktop. Then saved into a USB key (that vaccinated one) and tried to reinstall 'Windows Installer' on my PC... Adobe shows same error (error number 1601) as if I have done nothing... :-\

Please HELP!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #57 on: October 29, 2010, 12:00:28 AM »
Sorry for the delay but we have been bouncing this around now for a few days and have not come up with anything that we have not allready tried. 

The general concensus is that a repair install or even a reformat is required

Kary

  • Guest
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #58 on: October 29, 2010, 12:10:44 AM »
Thanks anyway Essexboy.
Will try reformat.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: 'cmd.exe' virus infected my PC with AVAST on!
« Reply #59 on: October 29, 2010, 08:49:26 PM »
Sorry we could not resolve it.  There were a fair few heads being scratched over this