Author Topic: Avast slowing down new computer  (Read 4549 times)

fshost

Avast slowing down new computer
« on: November 03, 2010, 08:38:24 AM »
I have been using Avast on all my PCs for several years now and have been quite happy with it.  However, I recently purchased a new PC and after installing Avast I am experiencing a noticable lag time in opening a browser (IE and FF) and in surfing the web in general, as well as some slowness in applications to load (though this is less noticeable than the browser issues).  As this is the only PC I have had this happen with I am thinking it is something related specifically to its setup and wondered if someone might have some suggestions to help me resolve this.

I have been using the same setup regarding security as all my other PCs - Avast! (free edition), Threatfire, SuperAntiSpyware (free edition, auto-startup disabled), and SpywareBlaster.  The computer in question is a gateway with Intel Core i3, 8GB RAM, and Windows 7 Home Premium.  (As far as I can tell I have removed all of the bloatware from this system.)

The slowdown is not a huge issue but it is kind of annoying to have a brand new system running slightly slower than all my other older ones.  I suspect the issue may either lie with Gateway software hiding on here still, or the fact I have Windows 7 Home Premium on here (Vista, XP, Windows 7 Ultimate, Enterprise, and even Starter are not having this issue.

One of the main reasons I like Avast is that it is light on resources.  Has anyone had a similar experience or suggestions regarding this?

SafeSurf

Re: Avast slowing down new computer
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 08:43:41 AM »
Hello fshost and welcome to the forum.

Is your machine acting normally otherwise?  Have you scanned your machine for malware and come out clean?

SafeSurf

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2010, 09:02:02 AM »