Author Topic: Using Avast and MSE together  (Read 4061 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PHJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Using Avast and MSE together
« on: November 04, 2010, 10:23:36 PM »
Recently read on a well known tech site that we could use Avast and MSE together and am questioning that advice (always been told that two anti-virus programs running at the same time would interfer with each other, sometimes very seriously). 

I know Avast made the effort to make sure that it works with Windows 7 but did they also prove that Avast and Microsoft Security Essentials could run on the same computer at the same time without confilict?

Offline RedFan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2010, 10:33:34 PM »
My advice is _ just use only one of them, choose avast or MSE  ;D
Intel® Dual-Core E5200. RAM: 4GB DDR2 || HD 640GB || Windows 7 Home Premium x64 || IE10 ||

Offline Silk0

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 484
  • Octo Live
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2010, 10:40:45 PM »
Yeah, i think it's better to keep just one anti-virus... They can seem to don't give any problem but you never know.
So, yeah... stick with just one, it's the better option.
~ Silk0
Avast! Free 6.0.1367

Offline robinb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • Do You Feel Like A Hostage To Your Computer
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2010, 11:56:02 PM »
it is recommended to use one antivirus program only otherwise they will fight each other and one or both might crash and burn  ;D
robin
R&D Internet Associates
running 8 desktop, 2 laptop 1 netbook, XP Pro SP3, Windows 7, Windows Starter. (all 32bit except 1-64bit Desktop)
Avast Free, MSE (on assort. ones)
Spywareblaster, Superantispyware Pro, malwarebytes free on all for security.  XP & W7 firewall attached to a lynksis router.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72060
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2010, 12:19:55 AM »
I would stick with the conventional recommendation not to have two resident AVs installed.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.3.2220 R3-beta2 ?/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.5, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline mag

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 742
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2010, 11:24:33 PM »
The avast! blog of August 28th, 2009 says they're compatible. (I'll leave someone else to test though).

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72060
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Using Avast and MSE together
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2010, 11:36:04 PM »
That blog is over a year old, whilst every effort is used to try and make them compatible, there is still a chance that you will get conflict as effectively you still have two dogs fighting over one bone.

This is not to mention that some that have tried MSE on its own have found it heavier on resources than avast, add the two together and you are at the very least going to duplicate scanning effort/time and system resource use.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.3.2220 R3-beta2 ?/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.5, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security